Filling foods

6 May

Since feeling extra full and satisfied from my strawberry egg white oats the other day I wanted to keep the feeling of fullness going.

Enter orange creamsicle poppyseed oats:

Doesn’t it look creamy?  I’m not a big orange creamsicle fan at all, and hadn’t planned for it to taste like this but that’s how it came out.

Into it went:

1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup soymilk and OJ
1/4 cup water
pinch of sea salt
2 egg whites
1/2 tbsp poppyseed and chia seed

Topped off with cashew butter and mulberries.

The egg whites really bulked it up and filled me up to the brim.  Next time I’ll leave out the soymilk and add more water, plus add some orange zest.  This should cut back on the creamsicle-ness.

*****

Dinner was filled with all things tasty. 

Baked salmon fillet ontop of a bed of crunchy romaine (from my CSA delivery), sun dried tomatoes and homemade garlic croutons.  I coated the romaine in a quick avocado dressing, some pine nuts and chives.

Quick Avocado Dressing

Combine all in a blender and whirl until smooth.

1 avocado
1.5 tbsp lemon juice
1/4 tsp sea salt and pepper
1 large or 2 small cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 cup water

Toss with your favorite lettuce!

8 Responses to “Filling foods”

  1. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self May 6, 2010 at 6:56 am #

    I’m definitely going to have to try adding egg whites to my oats! Love the idea of getting some extra protein in there.

  2. cardiopizza May 6, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    Great recipes!

  3. Swanky Dietitian May 6, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    The dressing sounds great..and so simple!
    Thanks for the idea!

  4. janetha May 6, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    that dressing sounds incredible!!

  5. Naomi (onefitfoodie) May 6, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    love all of these recipes and that dressing sound SO good!!!

  6. Nicole May 8, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    The avocado dressing looks amazing!

  7. lisaou11 May 11, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    mm I bet the avocado dressing is good!

  8. acountablelife May 12, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    I’m loving your recipes! I just bought two avos and this dressing is just calling my name.

Leave a Reply

