Inspiration and challenges

12 May

Dinner on Tuesday and Thursday don’t happen as smoothly as they used to now that I teach bootcamp at 6 in the evening.  While Monday’s pizza was baking in the oven I quickly threw together a bean and turkey bake inspired by Janetha’s garbanzo bean and turkey bake.

I didn’t have all of the ingredients on hand so here’s what went into it.

Ingredients:

  • 20 ounces lean ground turkey
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can garbanzo beans – pinto beans
  • 1 cup diced roasted red peppers
  • 1 medium diced onion
  • 1.5 cups chunky salsa – 1 cup mango habanero salsa
  • 1 package knorr vegetable recipe mix – 3/4 cup chopped shiitake mushroom and 1 large carrot grated
  • 2 cups chopped spinach
  • 3/4 cup old fashioned oats
  • copious amounts of reduced sugar ketchup  – probably 1/4 cup of regular ketchup?
  • PLUS I added in 1/4 tsp sea salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp garlic powder

Mix in a bowl.  Put in a baking dish and top with more ketchup.

Time to bake??  Yes.

Since it was in the fridge overnight I baked it for 45 minutes at 350 degrees F (Janetha’s recipe baked it for 35 minutes).

It was so good, especially after an hour of bootcamp.  A new variation of meatloaf!

Thanks for the inspiration Janetha! 

Speaking of inspiration, Janetha hasn’t only been a cooking inspiration but also an exercise one too!  I joined her Wakeup Call Challenge earlier this month and have loved almost every minute of it.  Each morning, first thing before anything else (well almost anything, I’ve gotta feel the whiney animals first) I do at least 5 minutes of plyometric exercises.  Each are 1 minute long.  The most I’ve done so far is 17 minutes straight over the last weekend.  Tuesday morning was 15 and it gave me so much energy.

It’s amazing how getting your heart pumping first thing can have the same good effects coffee would on wake up time. 

Have you joined any challenges lately? 

I loved challenges.  Maybe it’s because I’m a bit competitive, or maybe I just like the motivation it brings but anytime I can join in on a challenge I’m there.  

I did the 100 push up challenge at the end of last year and the 200 sit up challenge earlier this year.  Once my shoulder feels better (the dang lawn mower got to me on Sunday!), then I’ll be starting up the 100 push up challenge again.  Look forward to it!

2 Responses to “Inspiration and challenges”

  1. cardiopizza May 12, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    I probably should do some sort of challenge just to have some new motivation!

    Great idea with turkey bake!

  2. Swanky Dietitian May 12, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    Dinner looks great! I am all for recipes you can prep the night before.
    I haven’t done any specific challenges but I would like to start up the 100 push up challenge. Keep me updated!

Leave a Reply

