Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes A Day (Book Review)

19 May

A while back I tried to bake a loaf of bread or rolls each week.  I love having fresh, homemade breads in the house.  Even though I tend to eat way more than I need to it is still something I cherish having. 

The breads I like to bake are whole grain and filled with good for me ingredients.  Homemade breads can be a lot of work when made from scratch.  There is tons of kneading and waiting involved.  Sometimes I just don’t have the time or want to make the effort.

What’s the solution?

source

I was so ecstatic when I received this book in the mail (thanks Monica!). 

You’re probably thinking – how do I make bread in 5 minutes a day?  Well I thought the same thing, hello it has to bake longer than that.  The 5 minutes are of active work, not including rise and bake time.  

I wanted to dive in and make bread right away, but I thought to myself… if I want to bake their bread properly I need to read through it first.  So I did.

The book starts out with great information about ingredients.  There is a lot of detail about different flours, grains, wheat extracts and gluten free options, liquids, yeast, salt, oils, nuts/seeds, sweeteners, dairy products.  This section really gets into the heart of bread baking – what goes into it.

Next the authors talk about equipment.  To get the nice crust on the breads you need steam in your oven.  They gave a few different options for how to achieve this – a nice feature for those in a standard home kitchen.  They also list out different pieces of equipment that can make baking easier and yield better results (like a baking stone that I wish I had!).

Before getting into the Master dough recipes they dish out tips and techniques.  The section includes a SUPER handy measurement table.  It lists the ingredient, for example whole wheat flour, the volume (1 cup), weight in ounces (4.5) and weight in grams (130). 

About 99% of the time I use measuring cups when baking, but this time I thought I would use my scale to get exact measurements (not required though).   

Now for the fun stuff – baking time!

This book has SO many recipes in it.  They are broken down into categories: the master recipe, whole grain breads, breads with hidden fruits and vegetables (can’t wait to make one of these!), flatbreads and pizzas, gluten-free breads and pastries and lastly enriched breads and pastries from healthy ingredients.

See – a ton of sections filled with even more recipes.

I decided to make the 100% whole wheat bread with olive oil for my first attempt.  I followed their recipe and instructions and made a batch large enough for 4 different loaves.  The dough doesn’t require any kneading (bonus), and can easily be mixed with a sturdy spatula because the dough it very wet.  I was able to keep the dough in the fridge for up to 14 days, but it only lasted about 12 I believe.

I made 2 oblong loaves, a corn-chili pepper flat bread we had with steamy chili and the super yummy pesto pizza with grilled chicken from the book.

Having the dough ready for me in the fridge made bread making simple.  For those of you out there that are afraid that your bread won’t turn out right, you should give this a try. 

I would very much recommend this book to anyone looking to explore baking bread from home.  This book in particular because there is a huge focus on whole grains, which are very important to get in the diet.

The authors, Jeff Hertzberg, M.D. and Zoë François, put together a video demonstrating their Master Recipe to show you really how simple it is. 

 

Let me know what you think!

 *I was sent this book free of charge for reviewing purposes.

12 Responses to “Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes A Day (Book Review)”

  1. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self May 19, 2010 at 6:23 am #

    My husband has actually gotten really into baking bread by using this book – it’s great!

  2. Naomi (onefitfoodie) May 19, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    NICE this looks so fun and easy!! i have yet to make my own bread!!

  3. janetha May 19, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    i have that book! havent used it.

  4. Jennifer May 19, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    Wow, I absolutely love homemade bread. I’m like you, I like to eat it a little too much. 😀 That book seems interesting, I need to give it a try.

  5. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} May 20, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    Great book review! I am gonna put this on my Amazon wishlist right now. Fast, simple & healthy homemade bread sounds like the ultimate treat 🙂

  6. Dawn (HealthySDLiving) May 20, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    This is awesome! I’m going to check this book out for sure!

  7. Kris | iheartwellness.com May 20, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    Bread is my weakness!! If I have a loaf in the house I want toast all day……so I rarely buy it!

    I would love to make my own bread as it looks like fun!

    XXOO

  8. The Candid RD May 20, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    Sounds pretty cool!! I’d love to write book like this, but focusing on healthy and quick dinners and lunches.

    I love bread too, but it’s hard to find a good one that is WHEAT free, and free of fruit juice concentrate. I miss a nice crunchy whole grain bread!

  9. Swanky Dietitian May 20, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    How fun! I have yet to make home made bread.

    Those look super delicious! One day when I finally make bread, I will have to pick up that book!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Camping pasta salad (plus a giveaway) « Get Healthy With Heather - June 10, 2010

    […] I reviewed the book Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day.  If you haven’t checked it out click here to read it and watch the 5 minute bread making […]

  2. Homemade buns with the perfect burger « Get Healthy With Heather - August 13, 2010

    […] whole wheat hamburger (or hotdog) buns in my Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day recipe book (review here).  I was a bit dissapointed when I looked over the recipe and saw that it used white flour in it […]

  3. Processed foods I buy « Get Healthy With Heather - September 18, 2010

    […] I do make bread, buns and rolls from scratch.  It isn’t a regular thing though.  Baking is time consuming […]

Leave a Reply

