Join me in 100 push ups

24 May

Push ups are back! 

 
source

After completing the 100 push up challenge last December the time has come for round 2.  The 100 push up program made me love push ups.  Don’t get me wrong, it is HARD work.  You really have to dig deep and just keep pushing through each set. 

What it is:  A 6 week-long structured program of push up training 3 times each week.  At the end of the 6 weeks you will be able to complete 100 consecutive push ups. 

Push ups are such an amazing and basic upper body exercise.  You can complete the 100 doing any variation of push ups.  Click here to see variations.

Want to join?  The 1st week will start next Monday, May 31st – Memorial Day.  Between now and then all you have to do is send me an email telling me you want to join (gethealthywithheather@comcast.net) and complete the initial test (do as many push ups as you can consecutively and let me know) to see which column you’ll follow.  Make sure to do this at least 2 days before we start on Monday. 

Here’s a sneak peek at the first day:

week 1: pick the appropriate column depending on your initial test results
Day 1

rest 60 seconds between each SET (longer if required)

  up to 5 push ups 6 – 10 push ups 11 – 20 push ups
set 1 2 6 10
set 2 3 6 12
set 3 2 4 7
set 4 2 4 7
set 5 max (at least 3) max (at least 5) max (at least 9)

See you can do that!  I’ll have all 6 weeks up in a few days but if you want to take a look at the program click here.

I look forward to having you join me in this awesome challenge.

11 Responses to “Join me in 100 push ups”

  1. Swanky Dietitian May 24, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    I am always complaining about my arms..I should join you in this challenge.
    Push ups are such a great workout!

  2. janetha May 24, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    i *really* should do this. ive got wedding arms coming up!

  3. Dawn (HealthySDLiving) May 24, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    I should do this–I suck at push ups! lol

  4. Katherine: What About Summer? May 24, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    girl get it! I am impressed

  5. Naomi (onefitfoodie) May 25, 2010 at 4:54 am #

    ohh man since doing insanity I have never done do many push ups in my life! and love them 🙂

  6. Nicole May 25, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    I just emailed you! I am IN!

  7. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) May 31, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    I do 100 push ups everyday, in a row.

    And then I do another 100 2 mins later.

    I do them as part of my fitness competition training program (my show is on Saturday!) and seriously, I love push ups! old school but definitely gets your arms and upper body lookin buff 🙂

    Saw this link on Janetha’s blog. You can count me in on 100 big ones. LMK what you need me to do to participate!

  8. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} June 2, 2010 at 5:05 am #

    I love your inspiration and motivation with your push up challenge! Consider me a member of this team. Push ups keep us in great shape. xxoo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ‘Cheesy’ hummus omelet « Get Healthy With Heather - May 26, 2010

    […] forget to send an email to gethealthywithheather@comcast.net if you want to participate in the 100 push up challenge starting on […]

  2. Back at it! « Preventionrd's Blog - June 1, 2010

    […] the challenge off with a 2 mile run + 1 mile walk. I’m also participating in Heather’s 100 Push-Up Challenge. I did 5 sets: 10-12-7-7-13. I hope to see these numbers climb through the […]

  3. Not so private push-ups « Preventionrd's Blog - June 2, 2010

    […] for the doc to come into the exam room yesterday, I decided to get my push ups out of the way for Heather’s 100 Push-Up Challenge. Yes, doctor’s offices are germ-laden, but I work in a health clinic…nothing there I’m not […]

Leave a Reply

