‘Cheesy’ hummus omelet

26 May

Most of the time I try to avoid dairy.  It tends to upset my stomach so the amount I eat I try to keep to a minimum. 

Not always though.  Sometimes I can get away with eating cheese, yogurt and cottage cheese.  When those times come I tend to then overdo it because I just get so excited when I feel okay eating it. 

Well last weekend was like that.  Way too much cheese and cottage cheese.  My stomach has been yelling at me since so this week I plan to recalibrate and eliminate dairy for the week to get back on track.

That doesn’t mean I won’t miss it.  I love cheesy omelets, cottage cheese on my sweet potatoes and fruit with my yogurt.

My solution?  A ‘cheesy’ hummus omelet.  I used nutritional yeast to get the flavor of cheese. 

Nutritional yeast is yellow in color and either comes in flakes or powder.  For every 2 tablespoons it contains 6 grams of protein, 3 grams of fiber and is a great source for magnesium, copper, manganese, thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, vitamin B6, folate, vitamin B12, and zinc.  Yowza a lot of good stuff huh?

Inside my 3 egg white-1 egg omelet with red onion whipped in went my cheesy mixture (1 tbsp nutritional yeast, 2 tbsp hummus and 1 tbsp water).

The result was a cheesy, slightly hummusy tasting omelet.  Paired perfectly with 1/2 a baked sweet potato. 

This breakfast was much more savory than my normal fruit filled egg white oats but surprisingly much more filling.  The entire meal including my sweet potato came in at 246 calories with 21 grams of carbohydrates, 22 grams of protein, 8.6 grams of fat and 4.5 grams of fiber.  The extra protein really gave me a ton of staying power that lasted until my AM snack.

Questions: Have you tried nutritional yeast before?  What is your favorite savory breakfast and how well does it hold your over until your next meal or snack?

**Don’t forget to send an email to gethealthywithheather@comcast.net if you want to participate in the 100 push up challenge starting on Monday!**

8 Responses to “‘Cheesy’ hummus omelet”

  1. Sherrill May 26, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    can’t stand nutritional yeast.My friend [vegan] uses a lot of it and I can always taste that bad taste.They are used to it .
    Its in so many recipes and I don’t know what you would use for substitute.
    Any info?

  2. The Candid RD May 26, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    I LOVE nutritional yeast. I try to explain to Nick that it mimics a cheesy taste when I add it to popcorn and broccoli, and of course eggs…but he doesn’t get it. It’s just so delicious. I can’t seem to keep it around long enough, I’m always heading back for more!

  3. Katherine: What About Summer? May 26, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    looks so good! I hope lost of people do the pushups; I’m intimidated by it

  4. Swanky Dietitian May 26, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    I have never tried nutritional yeast. Thanks for the recap cause I didn’t know the stats.
    Usually if i make a more savory breakfast, it is eggs or an omelet. Yum. I love putting lots of different veggies and feta.

  5. janetha May 26, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    nutritional yeast rocks! it is so versatile and has great stats. i should buy some.

    i want to do the pushup challenge, by the way. i am IN!

    and have you ever thought of switching your feed in google reader to the full post instead of just content summary? i would love you to the moon. well i already do.. but, ya know.

    • Heather May 27, 2010 at 4:12 am #

      Awesome glad you’re joining!

      I assumed it was full posts… how do I change it?

  6. Lauren @ Eat, Drink, and Be Hopeful May 27, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    I would never in a million years think of putting hummus in my eggs. But it actually sounds pretty good! I love savory foods in the morning.

  7. Nicole May 27, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    What a wonderful idea! I have tried nutritional yeast and I have a HUGE tub of it but I’m never creative in finding ways to use it. I’ll have to try this! Thanks, missy!

Leave a Reply

