Can’t get enough eggs

1 Jun

Last week I enjoyed a “cheesy” hummus omelet.  Pretty much the entire week of breakfasts were egg heavy which is a huge change from my standard nut buttery oats.  

The evidence is in…  

"cheesy" hummus swiss chard omelet with a banana and pumpkin seeds

sweet potato - swiss chard - green onion egg scramble

"cheesy" hummus omelet with a sweet potato

The verdict…  

Guilty of keeping me nice and full til it’s morning snack time. 🙂  

Jacob was recently at a local animal farm for graphic design work and was gifted these lovely eggs.  

  

There are a few jumbo twin eggs in there too.  The farm offers pasture raised chicken eggs.   

The majority of the eggs in our house come from Costco… 5 dozen at  a time.  The price is great, especially because we go through so many eggs in record time.  

I would love to purchase eggs locally but at $4/dozen the cost just doesn’t seem feasible.   

Want to learn more about eggs?  Here’s an article breaking down the differences in eggs you can buy… just a little something to think about when you’re at the store.  And here’s a link to information about the nutrition of the incredible eggs.  

Tell me your thoughts on eggs.  What type do you purchase?

4 Responses to “Can’t get enough eggs”

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes June 1, 2010 at 4:44 am #

    I’ve been eating a lot more eggs lately as well. I can’t eat the egg yolk when it’s all the way cooked, but I’ve been really enjoying egg whites (In the past, I never enjoyed just the whites…). I also made a few poached eggs – sooo good.

    I buy organic eggs at Costco and once in a while I splurge on eggs at the Farmers’ Market.

  2. Kara @ MyWellnest June 1, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    I liked the article on the egg breakdown! Very good info!

  3. Naomi(onefitfoodie) June 1, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    looove me some eggs!!!! I get organic kind at whole foods I also love egglands best!

  4. Lisa June 1, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Thanks for the egg links and ideas. We eat a lot of eggs. For a long time Gary scrambled egg whites for his breakfast but lately he has been eager to learn how to cook a perfect soft boiled egg like he remembers eating in Europe. That journey has taken us through several brands and kinds of eggs. I think the eggs in your photo are probably just what he is looking for.

Leave a Reply

