Heading out camping and leaving a glimpse of paradise

4 Jun

It seems like a few of you don’t mind muddy runs either.  Maybe it just reminds us of our childhood and being a kid again.   

Another thing I recall from my childhood is camping… tent camping that is.  I’m not a big fan of tent camping and sleeping on the ground.  Lucky me – we have a pop up camper that we’ll be sleeping in starting tonight!   

When I return I’ll share my “take camping eat anytime pasta salad”, a workout you can do while traveling, a sweet treat so much better than your standard smores (and better for you too!) and lastly an awesome giveaway.   

With that I’ll leave you with Arlene for another Australia hike.  I wish I was going to the paradise she got to enjoy.  You’ll see below..   

*****   

Hike (aka bushwalk): Myrtle Forest
By Arlene     

I have been told that today’s adventure cannot be called a hike. Rather, I went on a bushwalk and had the very good fortune to be hosted by a real bushwalking family (and friend) from the Hobart area. They took me to the backside of Mount Wellington to an area known as Collinsvale on a trail through the Myrtle Forest.    

Ellie, Julie, and Jackson – Real Tasmanian Bushwalkers

  The forest was lush with all shades of green—bright lime green moss, yellow green ferns, gray green shrubs and the dark greens of all sorts of trees I cannot identify. Other bright colors appeared as we hiked – bright orange mushrooms (looking like our witches’ butter) and lovely pinkish-red berries.  

  

Some of the Myrtle Forest colors in Autumn

 We did spot a kookaburra bird (although, as anyone who has hiked with me knows, the poor bird lost patience with me digging for my camera in my pack and flew away, so I don’t have a photo).    

But it was the gigantic ferns that really caught my eye (and held still for a photo).  I am certain there must be steroids in the Tasmanian forest floor. I have always thought of ferns as small underbrush in the Pacific Northwest, but these ferns make significant statements in the forest landscape.    

A really large fern canopy

After stopping for lunch (thanks to Jackson for the chicken sandwiches), we headed back home, but I had to get one more shot so as to remember this amazing paradise. Hopefully there is more bushwalking in my future.  

  

Tasmanian Paradise

  

 

5 Responses to “Heading out camping and leaving a glimpse of paradise”

  1. Swanky Dietitian June 4, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    Those sights are just amazing! That must be so pretty to see in person!
    Can’t wait to hear about the travel workout.
    Enjoy the rest of your time!

  2. Nicole June 4, 2010 at 7:35 am #

    Tasmanian Paradise…no joke! Stunning!

  3. Katherine: What About Summer? June 6, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    What wonderful colors in nature; looks exotic

  4. Lauren @ Eat, Drink, and Be Hopeful June 8, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    How exciting-I can’t wait to see all those cool things you have in store when you return. cool pictures!

  5. Erica June 9, 2010 at 4:12 am #

    Your trip sounds really cool- I can’ t wait to read about it. I haven’t been camping in forever…but loved it as a kid. I’m trying to convince my husband to go.

Leave a Reply

