Camping pasta salad (plus a giveaway)

10 Jun

It’s been great to get away and be outdoors in nature.  We went camping for 4 nights at Valley of the Rogue in southern Oregon.  The weather was warm and sunny most of the time.  Such a huge change from the rain that is happening back here this morning.

The surrounding area was hilly every direction you looked.

We cooked every meal outside.  One meal that we didn’t have to cook was my ‘take camping eat anytime pasta salad’.

I made a huge batch of this last year when we went camping and it was so nice to just have with our meals, or as a nice cool snack on a warm day.

Camping Pasta Salad

Ingredients

12 ounces whole wheat wide egg noodles, cooked
8 ounces frozen artichoke hearts, defrosted and chopped
1 lb french green beans, streamed and halved
4 ounces feta cheese, crumbled
1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
2 roasted red bell peppers, chopped
1/4 white onion, roasted
2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved
1/4 cup kalamata olives, diced
1 cup italian dressing

In a large bowl combine all of the ingredients.  Cover and store in the fridge.  The flavors get even better after a day in the fridge.

**Giveaway**

source

A few weeks ago I reviewed the book Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day.  If you haven’t checked it out click here to read it and watch the 5 minute bread making demo.

To share in the healthy bread making love, one lucky reader will win a copy of this awesome book.  With this in your book collection there is no reason to be scared of make homemade bread again.

To enter just leave a comment telling me about your favorite camping food or a bread making experience you have had.  For an additional entry link this giveaway on your site (leave a separate comment if you do this).

I’ll randomly pick a winner 1 week from today on Thursday, June 17th.

12 Responses to “Camping pasta salad (plus a giveaway)”

  1. Suzy June 10, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    I scored a breadmaker (Oster) at a garage sale last summer for $5 and we use it weekly. I think my favorite so far is this italian bread, made on the french setting. It’s got herbs in it and gets all crusty on the outside, but soft on the in. Yum!

  2. Bethany June 10, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    My favorite camping food has got to be smores. I am addicted!! It is awful!

  3. Kara @ MyWellnest June 10, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    I love pasta salad in the summer time! I’ve never made it with egg noodles though, I’ll have to try out your recipe!
    My favorite camping food is Smores!!! 🙂

  4. Barbara June 11, 2010 at 3:21 am #

    My favorite camping food is he rice salad: it looks a lot like your pasta salad, cheese, pickles, vegetables and small pieces of sausage or ham, but instead or pasta I use rice!
    Thank you so much, great giveaway!!!!!
    Barbara
    ricettebarbare at gmail dot com

  5. Erica June 11, 2010 at 6:50 am #

    So glad you had fun camping 🙂 The pasta salad sounds perfect for camping- a good carby pasta salad is exactly what you need & want when you’re outdoors all day. I have been wanting this bread book SO bad. I love baking bread. I do quick breads often (as you saw on my last post), but truly love a good yeast bread. I’m still working on mastering my skills ❤

  6. Lisa June 11, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    I made Tyler Florence’s Parker House Rolls. They were excellent!

  7. Jessica F June 11, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    I love having what we refer to as ‘poor man’s dinner’ when I’m camping. You know, the foil with ground beef patties, onions, carrots, and potatoes? Mmm over an open fire.

  8. Emily H June 14, 2010 at 7:07 am #

    I love making bread almost as much as I love eating it 😉 My favorite that I’ve made has to be jalapeno-cheddar! I use a bread machine, although I’d love to learn oven techniques as well.

  9. Barbara June 16, 2010 at 2:19 am #

    I blogged about your giveaway: http://candyricettebarbare.blogspot.com/2010/06/cookbook-giveaway-di-get-healthy-with.html

    Barbara
    ricettebarbare at gmail dot com

  10. eatingRD June 17, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    I would love to learn more about making fresh bread! My favorite camping food is anything in the dutch oven. That is the best invention ever and my family would make breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert in it 🙂 On our last camping trip I made a cornbread-topped chicken pot pie. I really enjoy camping. That pasta salad looks tasty too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Smores made better « Get Healthy With Heather - June 12, 2010

    […] Remember to enter my book giveaway! […]

  2. Total body travel workout « Get Healthy With Heather - June 17, 2010

    […] 1 more day to enter my giveaway for an awesome […]

Leave a Reply

