Smores made better

12 Jun

It sounds like smores are a favorite of many while camping.  That isn’t too much of a surprise… smores are fun to make and fun to eat. 

Wouldn’t it be fun to switch up your smores a bit and make you love them even more? Yes yes it would.

Here are the goods you need:

The technique:

Though it may look like 4 marshmallows the front and left ones are banana chunks.

The result:

Delicious.

You can use really any chocolate and cracker, the banana is key in this smores.  It sweetens up as your roast it.  The best part — your banana won’t catch on fire as easily as marshmallows (but no worries if you are into catching it on fire it will eventually happen).

So what do you think… are you going to give it a try at your next camp fire?

Remember to enter my book giveaway!

8 Responses to “Smores made better”

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes June 12, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    Yum!!! 🙂

  2. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self June 13, 2010 at 5:50 am #

    This is a great idea! I’m actually not a huge marshmallow fan, so I’ll definitely be doing s’mores this way next time! 🙂

  3. Erica June 13, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    What a great idea! I, like Katie, am not a huge marshmallow fan- so this sounds like a total win to me!

  4. Kris | iheartwellness.com June 13, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    What a great idea doll!!! I must try these! Marshmallows always gave me the heebie jeebies for some reason 🙂 Plus they are loaded with sugar!

    Great post!

    XXOO

  5. The Candid RD June 14, 2010 at 5:01 am #

    We have a fire pit in our back yard and we’ve been roasting marshmallows. Next time we are doing s’mores! I have actually thought about using my good dark chocolate (same as the one you have but it’s 85% dark) and now that you have shown me that it’s doable, I will use it!

  6. eatingRD June 14, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    very neat idea! I love caramelizing bananas so I could see how this would be delish. How about having bananas and marshmallows? lol I just love the ooey gooeyness of them in smores I have to admit 🙂

  7. Swanky Dietitian June 14, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

    What a delcious idea! I love that you used dark chocolate. What a perfect pair!

  8. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} June 15, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    OMG!!! The bananas are genius. Love it, I would much prefer them over marshmallows any day 🙂

Leave a Reply

