Fast legs

18 Jun

Wednesday night at the Clark County Running Club 3 miler I did something I’ve never done before.    

I was surprised…    

excited…    

and huffing and puffing from this!    

I set a new PR!  The exact time I am unsure of but I ran 3 miles in around 22:30-22:40.  Even without the exact number I know for a fact that is a PR for me.  I’m not exactly sure how I did this.    

It must have been a combo of the flat course and rest I had.  At the last CCRC run I did 2 weeks ago my Achilles began hurting (again) so after a couple more runs I took 1 week off from running.  I had only ran the previous Sunday so my legs and body were just more energetic than normal.  Maybe I need to not run as much?  Maybe I just need to take more breaks?    

However I did it I was sure happy.   

******   

Onto other happy news.  The winner of my giveaway for Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day via random “Jacob pick a number” is…… #7   

Jessica F, on June 11, 2010 at 1:42 pm Said: Edit Comment     

I love having what we refer to as ‘poor man’s dinner’ when I’m camping. You know, the foil with ground beef patties, onions, carrots, and potatoes? Mmm over an open fire.    

Jessica congrats!  Send me your address and I will forward it on so that you can get this awesome book.     

If you want to buy this book yourself because it really is an awesome book I’ve added it to my Amazon Store.   

*****   

Did you celebrate National Eat Your Vegetables Day yesterday?   

I did at breakfast (sweet potato and beet greens, lunch (mixed greens), afternoon snack (zucchini) and dinner (kale, swiss chard, garlic greens and green beans).    

Soba noodles sauted with sliced chicken meatballs, kale, swiss chard, green beans, garlic greens and a bit of teriyaki sauce.

 After this yummy dinner I was really in the mood for something sweet and had been waiting for just the right time to try my cacao walnut brownie Blue Mountain Organics sent me to sample.    

    

    

I LOVE that there are only 5 ingredients in this: dates, agave, cacao powder, walnut and golden Flax.  That is it.  Pretty cool.    

How did it taste, being a raw brownie?  Pretty good actually.  It has the texture of brownie and chocolate-y taste, but I think the agave gave it a different flavor (kind of alcohol like?) that I am not used to in my brownies.     

I gave Jacob a bit of it even though I knew he wouldn’t like it and I was right he didn’t.  I would definitely eat it again though.  The ingredients alone make it a superstar brownie!  Nutritional stats?    

    

Pretty good for a brownie, yeah?  The individual packaging is nice because it’s already pre-portioned out… sometimes I wish all my baked goods did that automatically too.    

Ever tried a raw brownie?

2 Responses to “Fast legs”

  1. The Candid RD June 18, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    I have never tried a raw brownie, but I would definitely be up for trying one!

    Great veggies yesterday. I’m impressed with the beet greens for breakfast! I had pumpkin in my oats, a large salad with fresh veggies (and tomato!) for lunch, and stir fry for dinner. I love veggies.

  2. The Candid RD June 19, 2010 at 5:10 am #

    Hey HEather, by the way, you need to change your name on your profile, I think you accidentally typed it in wrong.

Leave a Reply

