P90X

22 Jun

Over the past couple of months my workouts haven’t really been working toward anything in particular (except for my half marathon 1 month away).  I’ve been consistent each day running, walking, lifting weights or practicing yoga for the most part but don’t have much of a goal to work towards.  My half marathon training has been frustrating lately with my lingering Achilles pains.

Jacob likes having a workout program to keep him on track and wanted to do P90X again, but follow the program to a ‘t’ this time around.  You know what… so do I.  I love the P90X workouts (except for Kenpo – not a big fan) but have never gone through the 12 week program.  We decided to do it together which I am super excited about because we’ll be able to keep each other motivated and challenge each other throughout the program.

P90X is a 12-week structured intense exercise program.  The basic weekly format is strength, plyometrics, strength, yoga, strength, kenpo cardio then rest or stretch.  Weeks 1-3, 5-7 and 9-12 follow this format with the strength workouts switching up every few weeks.  During weeks 4 and 8 you are in the recovery weeks.  No strength training happens then, it is mainly filled with cardio, core work, yoga and stretching.  If you want to read more about P90X check out this link.

Monday was day 1 so at 5am we started the 50 minute chest and back workout, followed by 15 minutes of abs.  A LOT of push ups and pull ups happened during that time.  All of those AM push ups made my 100-push up challenge push ups really hard later that evening.  Pull ups are one exercise I am just not too good at.  I hope that through this program I can increase my overall strength to handle more than 1-2 pull ups.  Jacob is sweet and spots me during my pull ups.  It’s so much more challenging having a spotter than using my chair under my feet during pull ups.

So, that’s my new workout dealio for the up coming few months.  I’m really looking forward to the extremely challenging program (at least after day 1 I still am). 

Have any of you done P90X?  What outcomes were you looking for?  Did you accomplish them?

8 Responses to “P90X”

  1. Nicole June 22, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    P90X scares me! So intense and requires SO much strength! Note to self: Do your push-ups so you can get stronger! I wish you all the luck! I thought it was funny you said you hadn’t really been working out for some “particular”…except a 1/2 marathon. LOL! I could barely handle that, you’re awesome!

  2. jodie June 22, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    I started yesterday with Disc 11 cardio X. Not a fan at all , hoping the plyo section is better. My plan is to follow it every other day, plus my regular training and running routine. We will see how that goes. Bummer about your ankle.

  3. Erica June 22, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    Sounds good girl! My husband did P90 and really liked it. I tried one of the DVDs on an off day from teaching and thought it was pretty great too! Thank you for the tip about your workout page

  4. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self June 22, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    I’ve never done this but I’ve heard so much about it! I’m excited to read more about your experience. 🙂

  5. Swanky Dietitian June 24, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    It’s funny cause I have done P90X also but have never done it how it is designed. You have to keep us updated.
    It definitely is a killer workout. I will say that!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. P90X week 2 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - July 4, 2010

    […] Jul Week 2 of P90X is out of the way and complete.  If you missed week 1 recap click here to check it […]

  2. P90X week 3 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - July 14, 2010

    […] Jul Week 3 of P90X is done and I’m glad for it.  If you missed week 1 recap click here to check it out, and […]

  3. Getting started with exercise « Get Healthy With Heather - July 23, 2010

    […] been consistent ever since.  If it were not for my consistency I doubt I would be able to follow P90X  like I am doing […]

Leave a Reply

