P90X week 1 recap

27 Jun

I officially made it through week 1 of P90X.  It was tough but great.  Here’s how my week went down.

Monday: chest & back (52 minutes) and ab ripper x (15 minutes)
Tuesday: plyometrics (58 minutes)
Wednesday: shoulders & arms (58 minutes) and ab ripper x (15 minutes)
Thursday: yoga x (90 minutes)
Friday: legs & back (58 minutes) and ab ripper x (15 minutes)
Saturday: kenpo x (58 minutes)
Sunday: rest day

If I only count the P90X workouts it comes to just under 7 hours of exercise. WOW.

Throughout the week I had other workouts I had to get in too. I am still training for my 1/2 marathon that’s just 3 weeks away so on Wednesday I ran 3 miles and on Sunday I ran 10.1 miles.

Also, the 100 push up challenge is still under way with just 2 weeks to go so on Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Sunday I had a lot of push ups to do.

The most challenging workout:  plyometrics and legs & back

The most fun workout: plyometrics and yoga

The toughest exercise for me at this time: wide front pull ups ( I can’t even do 1 without help!)

My favorite exercises during this week: all the crazy push ups in chest & back

There are 12 different DVDs and 12 weeks so during each recap I’ll cover a different DVD.

P90X Chest & Back

This 50 minute workout starts with a warm up and stretch that takes about 10 minutes.  Right after that you get straight into a lot of hardcore push ups and pull ups.  There are a total of 12 exercises, 6 for the chest and 6 for the back.  The first time through you start with chest, then back, chest, back … etc.  The second time through it switches up and you start with back, then chest, back, chest… etc.  Every 4 exercises you get a rest.  You need the rest.  This workout has you sweat like crazy and push yourself further than you even want to go.  After you get through 24 exercises you finish with a nice cool down and stretch for about 5 minutes.

In the past when I’d do this workout a lot of the time I would stop after the first time through just because I was pooped and felt like it was a great workout with just that (and it is!).  Luckily since Jacob and I are doing this together we were able to keep each other on track and finish all the workouts without skipping anything.

There are 2 pieces of equipment that we used in addition to weights and the DVD.

A pull up bar that fits into the door frame (we both used this).

Push up bars to give a greater range of motion and ease wrists that may hurt when doing push ups  (Jacob used these).

If you don’t have these you can use exercise bands instead of the pull up bar and the floor or dumbbells instead of the push up bars.

The DVD gives you options depending on the type of equipment you have available which is nice for those just starting to make a home gym.

12 Responses to “P90X week 1 recap”

  1. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self June 28, 2010 at 4:58 am #

    Thanks for this! I’m considering doing this program, so I’ll be carefully reading all of your reviews! One of my concerns was the equipment, but it sounds like I’d be able to make do with the free weights I have. I would consider purchasing one or two additional pieces of equipment (maybe a pull-up bar) but I wouldn’t want to spend a ton.

  2. Nicole June 28, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    You are a machine!! You’ve got a lot going on exercise-wise right now, WOW!! I’m so glad to hear you’re enjoying P90X! I give you so much credit, it’s TOUGH!

  3. Swanky Dietitian June 28, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    Wow, you put my workouts to shame! You go girl!
    I love the plyometrics dvd of the series. It is one of my favorites.
    Keep it up!

  4. Dan June 28, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    I also had the same experience throughout my first week of using the p90x system. My roommate expressed some interest in trying p90x as well, but was only able to join me for 2 of the first 5 days. Needless to say, those two days were the best workouts I had all week! I’ve noticed in previous gym workouts that I would always perform better with a partner, and this concept holds true for p90x as well. Don’t be afraid to partner up with someone and tackle this intense workout program together. A little encouragement never hurt anyone, and I’m sure you’ll see a drastic difference in your level of performance.

  5. Naomi(onefitfoodie) June 28, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    so glad to hear your review since I am starting TODAY!!!! yes yes yes…I just finished insanity and on to p90x! we can compare results!!

  6. Tina June 29, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    Thanks for giving these videos such a thorough review. I am really intrigued to continue hearing about them. That is A LOT of training you are doing. Yowza! I would be so beat. Are you scheduling any rest days in there? Or is the yoga easy going enough to be like an active rest? I would hate for you to burn out. I bet you will see some awesome changes in your strength with all of that. Great!

  7. Erica June 29, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Josh loves the P90! I think I told you I’ve done the plyo workout and thought it was great. I’ll be eager to see you other week reviews! Take it easy over there chica 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. P90X week 2 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - July 4, 2010

    […] Jul Week 2 of P90X is out of the way and complete.  If you missed week 1 recap click here to check it […]

  2. P90X week 3 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - July 14, 2010

    […] Jul Week 3 of P90X is done and I’m glad for it.  If you missed week 1 recap click here to check it out, and here for week 2 […]

  3. P90X week 4 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - July 20, 2010

    […] recaps: week 1, week 2 and week […]

  4. P90X week 5 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - August 1, 2010

    […] are the past recaps:  week 1, week 2, week 3 and week […]

  5. Final P90X recap (week 12) « Get Healthy With Heather - October 5, 2010

    […] Week 1 (chest and back) Week 2 (plyometrics) Week 3 (ab ripper x) Week 4 (stretch) Week 5 (kenpo cardio) Week 6 (legs and back) Week 7 (chest, shoulders and triceps) Week 8 Week 9 (yoga) Week 10 (back and biceps) Week 11 (shoulders and arms) […]

Leave a Reply

