P90X week 2 recap

4 Jul

Week 2 of P90X is out of the way and complete.  If you missed week 1 recap click here to check it out.

The second week’s format was the same as the first.  Here is what I did:

Monday: chest & back (52 minutes) and ab ripper x (15 minutes)
Tuesday: plyometrics (58 minutes)
Wednesday: shoulders & arms (60 minutes) and ab ripper x (15 minutes)
Thursday: yoga x (90 minutes)
Friday: legs & back (58 minutes) and ab ripper x (15 minutes)
Saturday: kenpo x (58 minutes)
Sunday: rest day

Once again I still ran on Wednesday (3 miles) and Sunday (6 miles) and completed my 3 days of push ups on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

I am looking forward to only focusing my energy on P90X once my half marathon is over in 3 weeks.  I know rest is important and it will be good to get an actual only rest day on a Sunday soon. 

I had a few comments about rest and recovery from my week 1 recap and if I’m going to burn out with my extra exercise I have going on.  My answer?  I hope not.  This schedule is only going to go on for 1 more week then I have an offical P90X recovery week which will still include about 60-90 minutes of exercise each day but the intensity will drop down a ton.  Until then I will rest as much as I can.  I cut my running down from 3 to 2 days and the 100 push up challenge will be done after this week.

Enough about that, here’s what I thought this week:

The most challenging workout:  plyometrics for sure this week (I think the 10 mile run 2 days before left me a bit out of gas)

The most fun workout: kenpo (a huge surprise because kenpo was never my favorite but my mom and her friend Paula did it with me too!)

The toughest exercise for me at this time: wide front pull ups (still)

My favorite exercises during this week: reverse grip chin ups (I got up to 7!) and childs pose (relaxing :))

Plyometrics

If you aren’t familiar with plyometrics (plyo for short) here’s a bit of info to help explain the workout.  Plyometrics is a type of exercise that focuses on quick intense bursts of power and explosiveness.  To achieve this (which is used a lot in sports) you train your muscles to contract and explode with power on demand and in quick sequences.  It is intense work and not a beginners type of exercise.

In the P90X plyo DVD you warm up and stretch for the first 10 minutes.  You really need to get your legs ready for the intense workout and it gets you there.  Once you are into the workout each exercise lasts for 30 seconds, except for the last one in the set with is usually 60 seconds long.  You go through 6 different sets 2 times each.  At the end there is a bonus round with 3 – 60 second sports specific exercise.  

Here’s an example of how the first set goes:  jump squats (30 seconds), switch jump pick ups (30 seconds), heismans (30 seconds), swing kicks (60 seconds), repeat all 4 then you get a 30 second break before you move onto the next set.

This workout really gets your heart pumping.  It is a super intense workout that gets me resting my hands on my knees.  I know that having Jacob there pushing through the toughness really helps me stick with it.  I don’t want him to show me up!

10 Responses to “P90X week 2 recap”

  1. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self July 5, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    Wow, that plyo workout sounds tough!

  2. Kat July 5, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    Hi there! I am doing P90X too and I LOVE IT! Tony is a bit crazy for me haha, but I lvoe the results I am seeing. When you get to Chest, Shoulders, and Triceps let me know cause that one is my FAVORITE! There are like 8 variations of pushups. LOVE IT! Good luck on your journey 🙂

  3. Nicole July 6, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    SO impressive! And to read your push-up stats! Awesome, job! 65 on your last exhaustion test, wasn’t it? Mine was only 46!!

  4. Swanky Dietitian July 6, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    Good for you for balancing it all! P90X by itself is hard enough.
    I am going to try and do the ab dvd a few days every week since I really want to work on my abs.

  5. Erica July 7, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    Glad you’re still loving the workout!! That is great that you’ll be able to fit in some more rest days once your big run is over (good luck!!). I must say- I think the workout variety in P90 is fabulous. Have a good Wednesday

  6. Naomi (onefitfoodie) July 7, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    yep im doing P90x too! the plyos are great, but if you think thats hard, try an insanity workout! the p90x plyos looks easy next to insanity haha..its an awesome workout thougH! I love the p90x workouts! i did the shoulders and arms today! my arms were shaky afterwards!! glad you are liking it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. P90X week 3 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - July 14, 2010

    […] done and I’m glad for it.  If you missed week 1 recap click here to check it out, and here for week 2 […]

  2. P90X week 4 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - July 20, 2010

    […] recaps: week 1, week 2 and week […]

  3. P90X week 5 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - August 1, 2010

    […] are the past recaps:  week 1, week 2, week 3 and week […]

  4. Final P90X recap (week 12) « Get Healthy With Heather - October 5, 2010

    […] 1 (chest and back) Week 2 (plyometrics) Week 3 (ab ripper x) Week 4 (stretch) Week 5 (kenpo cardio) Week 6 (legs and back) Week 7 (chest, […]

Leave a Reply

