Outdoor grillin

12 Jul

One summer time activity I love is cooking outdoors.  Whether it is cooking while camping or grilling on the deck it is always a good time.  On hot days it’s nice to keep the heat out of the kitchen.

Now, even thought I enjoy, I’m not really that good at it.

Upon closer inspection you can see my kale chips becoming much more crispy than I like.

Along with my extra crispy kale chips I grilled Mahi Mahi sprinkled with Caribbean spice and corn on the cob.

It turned out pretty well despite the burn marks I usually get on the corn and crispy kale chips.

My husband actually just got a new charcoal bbq for his birthday so he’s been taking on the grilling duties for the past week. 

Here are some of my personal tips for those that don’t have someone to take on the outdoor kitchen or for times when I’ll be in charge of it again.

1.  Use foil and oil.  Especially when you are cooking something delicate like fish.  It would have stuck to the grates if I hadn’t used the foil with a bit of olive oil spray too.

2. Have a thermometer handy.  Sometimes it’s hard to tell when your burgers or chicken are done, especially if your grill isn’t at the right temperature.  A small electric thermometer has helped me so much.  I don’t know how I lived without it.

 

Source

3. Don’t mess with your food.  When grilling, or even cooking in the kitchen don’t touch your meat too much.  If you want nice grill marks or for the meat to caramelize a bit to lock in moisture and flavor don’t move it around more than you need to.  Only having to flip your burgers once will get you the best results.

4. You’re outside, have fun with it!  There is something about cooking outside that makes me feel less pressured.  Everything doesn’t have to be perfect.  Sometimes you just have to laugh at yourself when you catch a beer can chicken on fire, or something like that 😉

What are some of your bbq-ing tips?

Have fun grilling.

One quick announcement before I head out to admire the grill master…. the winner of the Cherry Chomper is……………………………. #9


eatingRD July 8, 2010 at 11:34 am Edit #

How cute is that?! I would like those stylish stems for wine tasting parties

Congrats Kristen!  Email me your address and I will forward it on so that you can get cherry chomping too.

Thanks to all that entered.

5 Responses to “Outdoor grillin”

  1. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com July 13, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    YOU ARE GORGEOUS ❤

    gotta love summer grilling on the BBQ 🙂

  2. Erica July 14, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    I Love love grilling too! Great tips. I’m always using foil! And even if everything doesn’t turn out perfect…it is still a lot of fun 🙂

  3. Tina July 14, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    My husband is always the one in charge of grilling since he does it so much better. I love to eat grilled food though!

  4. Kris | iheartwellness.com July 14, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I really need to fire up my grill more! I can’t remember the last time using it. Honestly since turing vegan I feel off the grilling wagon….but who says you can’t grill veggies!? I mean please, I have lots I can do 😉

    Your kale chips look yummy! I like ’em crispy 🙂

    xxoo

  5. eatingRD July 16, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    Yay, grilling! although it’s been so darn hot out, we don’t even want to grill, isn’t that horrible? I usually have Chris go outside to grill hehe 🙂 Thanks girl! I actually just bought some cherries at the farmer’s market yesterday 🙂

Leave a Reply

