Post workout pancakes and pudding

24 Jul

After each workout I do, especially when strength training, I  eat something within 30-60 minutes.  This helps me recover more quickly, which means my muscles will be ready sooner for the workout the next day.  Muscles need nutrients and with all of the calories burned in the workouts I know I need calories back in quickly. 

Here are two of my recent favorite post workout meals/snacks – pancakes and pudding.  The pancakes are a bit more filling than the pudding.  I eat these for breakfast after an early morning workout.  The pudding has been delicious in the warm afternoons when I know dinner is still about 2 hours away.  I don’t want to wait that long to eat, plus it is cool, refreshing and delicious!

I use hemp protein powder in both of these recipes.  Hemp protein is my protein powder of choice.  It is a very natural and less processed protein powder.  However it doesn’t have a very pleasant taste on its own so these recipes cleverly mask it with the carob powder and sweetness from the bananas.

Post workout carob and hemp pancakes

Ingredients:

2 eggs
1/3 cup plain yogurt
1 ripe banana, smashed
1 tsp canola oil
1/2 tsp vanilla
3 tbsp hemp protein powder
1/2 cup oatmeal
2 tbsp carob powder
1 tbsp ground flaxseed
1 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp sea salt

Combine the wet ingredients in a small bowl and whisk to combine.  In a larger bowl add the remaining dry ingredients and whisk any lumps out.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir until well combined.

Pre-heat your skillet to medium heat and coat the pan with olive oil spray.  Pour the batter into the pan (whatever size pancakes you choose).  The batter will spread a bit.  Cook for 4 minutes on one side, or until bubbles begin to form ontop.  Flip and cook for another 4 minutes. 

This recipes makes 2 servings.

Time saving tip: prep the wet ingredients and the dry ingredients the night before so that all you have to do is mix them together in the morning and cook your pancakes.

Post workout fruit, carob and hemp pudding

Ingredients:

1 small frozen banana cut into chunks
2 tbsp hemp protein powder
1 tbsp carob powder
1/2 tbsp almond butter
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp lime juice
1/4 cup frozen blueberries
pinch of sea salt

Add the banana to the food processor and blend on high until almost creamy (this is also how you make banana soft serve ice cream!).  Add the remaining ingredients and blend on high until creamy and everything is mixed.  Scrape the sides down if needed.  This will take about 2 minutes. 

Eat right away.  This makes 1 tasty serving.

8 Responses to “Post workout pancakes and pudding”

  1. sophia July 25, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    Ooh, you betcha I’ll be eating it right away. It looks so rich and indulgent! Frozen bananas are such a blessing.

  2. Kristen (swanky dietitian) July 26, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    Those pancakes seem the perfect post workout fuel..lots of protein and fiber! I sometimes always just forget about pancakes. Those sound really good, I will have to try them out.

  3. Naomi(onefitfoodie) July 26, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    heckyes I eat right away! i’ll take those pancakes, thank you 🙂

  4. Ellen @FirednFabulous July 26, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    Ohhh, both look good, but that pudding is calling my name! Yummm.

  5. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} July 27, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    You are so right to recover from tough workouts with such amazing food. I have never tried hempseed protein powder, but I keep reading about how great it is! xo

  6. eatingRD July 28, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    great recipes! oh my, that pudding sounds heavenly, must make that soon. Interesting with the lime juice, bet it adds a nice brightness. Oh and I got the cherry chomper!! It’s so cute!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to make egg white oatmeal « Get Healthy With Heather - October 13, 2010

    […] I’ll prep breakfast too, like my warm quinoa or make extra pancakes to re-heat, but most of the time I like to cook a warm […]

  2. How to make egg white oatmeal « Get Healthy With Heather - October 13, 2010

    […] I’ll prep breakfast too, like my warm quinoa or make extra pancakes to re-heat, but most of the time I like to cook a warm […]

Leave a Reply

