My second half marathon

3 Aug

This week my schedule is all out of whack but that’s okay because I am on vacation!  We’re only going to be home for a couple days so P90X will be put on hold for 1 week so that we can stay on track with out workouts.  I don’t want to miss any of them.  Right now I am half way through the program, just finishing week 6. 

On Sunday, July 25th I ran my second half marathon with my mom.  We ran the Lacamas Lake Half Marathon.

This race was much a lot different than my first half marathon in January.  The weather was obviously different in July.  It was a very warm run starting at 8am.  The sun was out the entire time but luckily there was a lot a shading and water/gatorade stops every 2 miles.  It was such a relief having liquids available.

This race t-shirts was cuter and fit better than the first one.

Random fact: My mom and I got the same pink shorts 5 or 6 years ago when we ran out first Race for the Cure run.  We still wear them at each race for the cure and a lot of other runs.  We’re like twins 🙂

When race time came all 771 runners crowded together to get going.

We left the high school and headed down a long hill and started our trek around the large lake.  Starting out I felt good.  I think I felt good for the first 4 or so miles (even though I had to go to the bathroom but didn’t want to wait!).  Around mile 5 the route took a detour off the lake path and up one hill, then up another painful hill (named payne hill).  Finally at the top of the second hill I had to make a honeybucket stop. 

Once we got going down the hill my achilles pain started up but only for a little while.  I was lucky that it went away so quickly.  We were back on the lake trail by mile 8 and starting to feel a bit tired.  When we got to mile 10 I was aching.  It started to feel like mile 12 of my first half marathon.  My knees were getting really stiff.  I know my mom was feeling achy too.

We made it to mile 12 and rounded the corner to go UP the hill similar to the one we started descending from the start.  I remember this hill from a 10 miler I did many years ago.  It was KILLER!  We ended up being able to walk it faster than we could run it.

Some people in the neighborhood had their sprinklers out for runners and there was even a guy watering his plants that would spray runners as they went by.  It felt so good with the hot run beating down!

I was so glad to see the stadium with my dad, brother and sister in law cheering us on. 

But, I was in a lot of pain too.  I don’t know where my knee pains came from since most of my long run pains have been with my achilles but I kept running/limping to the finish.

We pushed to the end….

And finished in 2 hours 9 minutes and 14 seconds with an average mile of 9:51.

My goal of beating my previous time (2 hrs 3 mins 42 sec) didn’t happen but I’m not disappointed by that.  I know we really pushed  our selves and I couldn’t imagine running any faster.  The combination of heat and hills made this race so much more challenging.  

It took me 2 full days to feel back to normal from this.  I was pretty dehydrated from it and running in the heat.  It’s been 9 days and I haven’t run since… maybe I need to go hit the road for a short run.

9 Responses to “My second half marathon”

  1. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self August 3, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    I’m so sorry you were in pain. 😦 But congrats on finishing your second half! SO EXCITING! 🙂

  2. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} August 3, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    Heather, how cool that you can run a 1/2 marathon with your mom. Congrats to you both. I know how it is to try and beat a time, but the truth is you still completed the race & did awesome. Hope your knees feel better soon.
    BTW for the ice pops: you can use dixie cups, cover with foil and pierce the foil with pop sticks. Simple & cheap 🙂 xo

  3. Kristen (swanky dietitian) August 3, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Good for you! Even though you didn’t beat your previous time, that is still amazing!
    One day I keep telling myself I will compelte a half marathon. I just need to get back into running. You are definitely an inspiration!

  4. Carol August 3, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    WOW! Congratulations to you and Lynda. Tell Lynda she looks great!! You do too, of course! Great job finishing a tough run.

    Carol

  5. Jennifer August 3, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    How awesome it is for you to run with your mom! I need to get a running partner. Maybe my husband? 🙂 I’m hoping to do my first half in Oct. but this past Monday morning my shins hurt so bad! So I made myself take 3 days off completely. No running, exercise, nada. I’m scheduled to run a 5k this weekend, so I hope this rest will do me some good. I really want to run a half. So even if I only do it one time and then can’t anymore because of pain, at least I can say I did it! Congrats to you and your mom.

  6. lizlivingvegan August 3, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    You and your mom are so cute!! That’s awesome 🙂 I’m trying to start running more, and there is half marathon here in VA in November… but I feel like I’d never be able to run that far! I’m taking it slow, one day at a time, but I’m hoping to work up to a half someday! 🙂

  7. Erica August 7, 2010 at 3:34 am #

    CONGRATS on finishing!!! I think thats a great time. SO cute that you and your Mama dress up like twins. What a great family activity

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. P90X week 6 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - August 8, 2010

    […] workouts followed my half marathon, so I felt pretty pooped on Monday and Tuesday.  I was excited to get the stretch in on Sunday.  […]

  2. To run or not to run, that is the question. « Get Healthy With Heather - October 29, 2010

    […] that one we decided to sign up for a second to keep our momentum going.  The Lacamas Lake half marathon was in July and was pretty brutal.  The combo of hills and heat made it not as fun and we both […]

Leave a Reply

