P90X week 6 recap

8 Aug

Having week 6 of the program behind me means I am half way through it.  I am surprised and happy to say that I’ve made it this far and can’t wait to continue.

Since I was on vacation last week and away from home I didn’t follow the program (but I still exercised each day!), so week 7 will start tomorrow. 

Here is what I did during week 6:

Monday: chest, shoulders and triceps (55 minutes), abs (15 minutes)
Tuesday: plyometrics (55 minutes)
Wednesday: back and biceps (51 minutes), abs (15 minutes)
Thursday: yoga (50 minutes)
Friday: legs and back (58 minutes), abs (15 minutes)
Saturday: kenpo cardio (58 minutes)
Sunday: stretch (57 minutes)

Those workouts followed my half marathon, so I felt pretty pooped on Monday and Tuesday.  I was excited to get the stretch in on Sunday.  It was definitely needed after the run on Sunday and week of workouts.

I just love being a morning person.  I finished my kenpo cardio and stretch workouts before anyone was up on my vacation.  I was able to do those workouts because they don’t need any equipment so taking the DVDs and my laptop on the trip was simple.

Legs and Back

The legs and back workout is one of my favorites.  It is not easy one bit, but I love the rhythm of the workout.

After the warmup and stretch you follow the pattern of leg exercise, leg exercise, then pull ups.  You don’t repeat any of the leg exercises, so going all out on each one is easier knowing you only have to do it once.  The pull ups switch each time, but you do repeat through them. 

There are a total of 8 circuits in this workout.  This breaks down to 16 different leg exercises and 4 varying pull ups (you repeat after one time through).

Since this workout is done during every workout week (except the 2 recovery weeks) you can really follow and see how your pull ups improve over time.  For some strange reason I always do so much better on this back day than when it is earlier in the week. 

Okay, it’s really probably because I am not working another upper body part during the same workout, but I always surprise myself in a good way.

5 Responses to “P90X week 6 recap”

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes August 8, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    Great recap! P90X is on my list of things to try… Maybe once the toddler starts preschool… 🙂

  2. Nicole August 8, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    I am pooped just READING that! I give you so much credit for doing P90X! I have definitely decided it it just too intense for me! 🙂

  3. Kristen (swanky dietitian) August 9, 2010 at 7:23 am #

    I will say that p90x is such a good workout. Like I have mentioned, I have only done different videos here and there. I am super impressed you have stuck with it. Definitely not easy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. P90X week 7 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - August 18, 2010

    […] one bit.  Each week it seems harder and harder to motivate myself to finish the entire DVD.  Like week 6, I made it through the first 50 minutes (the challenging flow […]

  2. Final P90X recap (week 12) « Get Healthy With Heather - October 5, 2010

    […] 1 (chest and back) Week 2 (plyometrics) Week 3 (ab ripper x) Week 4 (stretch) Week 5 (kenpo cardio) Week 6 (legs and back) Week 7 (chest, shoulders and triceps) Week 8 Week 9 (yoga) Week 10 (back and biceps) Week 11 […]

Leave a Reply

