Peanut butter chocolate oatmeal parfait

9 Aug

After being on vacation for 10 days sometimes it’s hard to get back into the groove of things.  Monday morning actually went smoother than I thought it would.

I enjoyed a leisurely walk with Joe and a cup of joe in  the early morning.  Since Jacob was kind enough to endure my crazy early morning workout scheduled for the first half of P90X, I compromised and agreed to workout in the evenings when I get home from work.  We are the opposites.  I have more energy in the morning to exercise and he has more in the evening.

I hope this new schedule works out well for us.  We’ll see how it goes for the next few weeks.  I know Joe will enjoy it because he will get even more morning walks now lucky dog.

When we were home for a couple days during our vacation I made time for some prettier and super tasty breakfasts.  Here’s one I really enjoyed.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Oatmeal Parfait

I layered chocolate oats and vanilla peanut butter goat yogurt.  The decadent breakfast was topped off with some cocoa nibs for more chocolately goodness.

Chocolate oats: 1/3 cup oatmeal cooked in 2/3 cup water with 1/2 a frozen banana then 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder stirred in

Vanilla peanut butter goat yogurt: 3/4 cup plain goat yogurt mixed with 1 tsp vanilla extract + 1/2 tbsp agave + 1 tbsp peanut butter

There is something about having chocolate for breakfast that makes my day start out great.  This breakfast kept me full from the awesome carb (oats), protein (yogurt) and fat (peanut butter) combo!

I also attempted to make goat yogurt in my crock pot following these directions from Nicole, but had a complete fail.  The yogurt froze in my fridge while I was straining it!  Boo!  Maybe I will attempt this again sometime with better success.

9 Responses to “Peanut butter chocolate oatmeal parfait”

  1. Tina August 9, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    Those sounds amazing!!! Glad you had a good first day back. It is so rough getting back in the swing of things. I know tomorrow is going to be like that for me.

  2. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self August 9, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    This looks amazing!!!

  3. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} August 10, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    Love your yogurt parfait Heather! Anything with oats, chocolate and yogurt is awesome in my book! xo

  4. Jennifer August 10, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Wow that looks really good! I love anything peanut butter and oatmeal. They are my food staples for sure!

  5. Kara @ MyWellnest August 10, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    Your parfait looks soooo good!

    The first few days after vacation are always an adjustment it seems!

  6. Gina (@ Looking Forward) August 10, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Plain goat yogurt scares me a little, but I’ll have to play with adding flavor…PB with a little natural sweetener sounds tasty!

  7. Kristen (swanky dietitian) August 10, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    This sounds amazing! Peanut butter and chocolate in your breakfast! That sounds absolutely perfect. I am going to have to attempt this!

  8. eatingRD August 10, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    wow, that sure looks decadent for a healthy breakfast. Yum! I’ve never tried chocolate oats, but I’ve been on a chocolate kick lately

  9. Heather August 10, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    holy yum, you had me at chocolate peanut butter!!! i am DROOLING now 🙂

Leave a Reply

