Homemade buns with the perfect burger

13 Aug

Last weekend I made sure to meal plan for the week (click here for how I do my meal planning).  I didn’t want to make a trip to the grocery store so I checked to see what I had on hand and went from there.  One item that was lacking was hamburger buns.  How can we enjoy Jacob’s perfect hamburgers without buns?  Yes, we could use regular bread but it just isn’t the same without buns.

Lucky for me there is a recipe for whole wheat hamburger (or hotdog) buns in my Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day recipe book (review here).  I was a bit dissapointed when I looked over the recipe and saw that it used white flour in it as well, but since I don’t really keep white flour on hand I made it work with only whole wheat flour. 

Sunday evening I prepped the dough (I reduced the flour amount by about 1/4 cup because I was only using whole wheat flour) and put it in the fridge to wait and be ready for me on Monday.

Monday evening rolled around and I got to work.  After shaping, rest and baking 60 minutes later I came out with these beauties.

They were pretty big but wonderful!  The 2 lbs of dough made 8 buns, so next time I will definately make at least 10-12 to shrink the size down a bit. 

For anyone wanting to make their own whole wheat buns I would really recommend trying the soft whole wheat sandwhich bread dough from this book.

My bun was surrounding the beauty of Jacob’s hamburgers with hummus, beat greens and onions (both from my garden).

He really has become the grill master and they are perfect everytime.  Maybe someday he’ll share his secrets with the world.

7 Responses to “Homemade buns with the perfect burger”

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes August 13, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    Great buns! And what a great looking burger! Making bread again is on my “must make” list… 🙂

    Happy Weekend!

  2. edenseats August 15, 2010 at 7:09 am #

    I love making my own bread ever since I took like seven baking courses in culinary school. I seriously never buy the packaged anymore. Yours look great!

  3. Kristen (swanky dietitian) August 15, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    These buns look great! I have never attempted making bread of any sort. I really should try it at one point. I have had homemade bread and it is out of this world delicious!

  4. The Candid RD August 16, 2010 at 3:59 am #

    I’m impressed! These buns look store bought (in a really good way). Good for you for modifying the recipe to make them 100% whole wheat. Very good idea. Who needs white bread?! Not me!

  5. megan August 16, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    awesome looking hamburger buns! Don’t homemade buns taste so much better? Definitely worth it in my opinion 🙂 I haven’t tried the no-knead version, but they look great!

  6. Jennifer August 19, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Now that’s my kind of burger bun! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Processed foods I buy « Get Healthy With Heather - September 18, 2010

    […] I do make bread, buns and rolls from scratch.  It isn’t a regular thing though.  Baking is time consuming for […]

Leave a Reply

