Fresh produce galore and a simple chickpea salad

21 Aug

My regular CSA hasn’t been offering deliveries as often as I’d like.  I guess I’m an impatient person so I searched out an additional source of fresh produce.  

One of my husband’s friends told him about a local produce delivery company they use – Organics To You.  I’d actually looked into this company a while ago when searching for a CSA but thought that I would have an overflowing garden and make weekly trips to the farmer’s market.   

Neither happened.   

My garden is a bit slow to fill our fridge and the farmer’s market trips are interrupted with weekend get-aways.  I’m not saying that’s a bad thing but it was time to work around that.  

Our first delivery came on Wednesday and was unpacked immediately. 

I came home from work to find a fridge full of health on a shelf (or two).  

Tri-color carrots
Potatoes
Onions
Tomatoes
Green bell peppers
Zucchini
Apricots
Peaches
Plouts
Nectarines
   

 
Lettuce
Spinach
Cilantro
  

After admiring for a couple of minutes I removed a few items from the fridge and put them in their proper homes. 

Normally we wouldn’t be able to fill our shelves like we did which means our fridge was looking pretty bare.  Our freezer was too at the time so I used part of the bounty for my lunch the next day plus a great protein and fiber packed pantry item – beans.

Simple Chickpea Salad 

  

Ingredients

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/2 bunch of spinach, chopped
2 golden beets, roasted and diced
1 medium tomato, diced
1/2 a green bell pepper, chopped
1/4 cup green onion, chopped
2 – 3 tbsp italian dressing

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and stir.  

 You can eat this right away or save it in the fridge covered for 1-2 days.  The spinach will soften up a bit after being in the fridge but the flavors are even tastier then.

PS: Check out the Yogurt Battle at Family Fresh Cooking and vote for my curry chicken salad recipe!  Thanks 🙂

6 Responses to “Fresh produce galore and a simple chickpea salad”

  1. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} August 21, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    Heather, you got so many fresh goodies in your fridge, I need to come over to your place to cook together. The chickpeas look so yummy. Thanks so much for entering my yogurt battle!! xo

  2. SheFit August 21, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    WOW! You hit the jackpot with all those fruits and veggies. The salad looks great. Perfect way to make great use of all those produce!

  3. eatmovelove August 21, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    Hi Heather!

    Thanks for coming to my site ! I love new readers – cause then I find great new blogs 🙂 – Chickpeas ! yes, as you could read from my last post – I love hummus, so chickpeas for sure.

    Great site – I look forward to reading more.Will put you on my Reader. I had this background for awhile…but am constantly changing it up, I can never decide!! I wonder now if my background is still too boring…

  4. Erica August 21, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    Hooray for the freshness. So jealous! I want to join the CSA here so bad. And the salad looks fantastic. I love the flavor of chickpeas and how filling they can be

  5. Kristen (swanky dietitian) August 22, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    This salad looks so fresh! My coworker recently signed up for a delivery. I am thinking about trying it out. I love the idea that you get a variety. I always seem to pick up the same foods each week at the grocery store.

  6. Ellen @FirednFabulous August 23, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    Ohh that actually DOES sound simple. Even for a cooking novice like me 🙂 I love chickpeas, this sounds yumm.

Leave a Reply

