P90X week 8 recap

24 Aug

Week 8 concluded my second and final recovery week.  As I said before, my scheduled exercise didn’t happen toward the end of the week.  Here’s what I did (I added what was scheduled in red)

Monday: biggest loser yoga (60 minutes) – P90X yoga
Tuesday: P90X core synergistics (58 minutes)
Wednesday: 3 mile run (23:43 minutes) – P90X kenpo cardio
Thursday: P90X kenpo cardio (45 minutes) – P90X stretch
Friday: rest – P90X core synergistics
Saturday: P90X stretch (57 minutes) – P90X yoga
Sunday: rest

Most weeks I follow the schedule and only slack a bit on the yoga because it is so long, but this week filled up with a lot of red.  Obviously life goes on and I’ve started up week 9 strong and excited.  The strength training DVDs always get me excited to work out.

It was pretty difficult to motivate myself to do the yoga DVD though.  I like it, but like I said it is so long (90 minutes) plus I had picked up the biggest loser yoga DVD from the library and it was due back so I needed to try it out before I returned it.

It looks like I should have used one of my own exercise motivation tips.  

The yoga DVD review will happen next time.  I feel like I should actually DO it during the week I review it. 

A couple things to check out:

My latest examiner article on carbohydrates and a new blog my husband created.

5 Responses to “P90X week 8 recap”

  1. The Candid RD August 25, 2010 at 4:20 am #

    As much as I LOVE yoga, I really can’t do it for much longer than 30 minutes. I find that the hour long yoga videos and/or classes are just too too long and I lose interest quickly.
    I like to have a workout that excites me! Strength training is something I love so I can understand getting excited about that, definitely!

  2. Kristen (swanky dietitian) August 26, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    I think I have mentioned this before but 90 minutes of yoga is a lot! I have gone to 75 minute classes and that was ok but any more is kind of pushing it.
    Also the atmosphere is much different at home so I could see myself watching the clock.

  3. Andrea@WellnessNotes August 27, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    I have a hard time doing long yoga classes on my own as well. It’s different when I’m in a class with others, but at home I don’t do very well…

    Have a great weekend!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. P90X week 9 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - September 5, 2010

    […] stuck with the program much better than I did last week.  Week 9 and 11 actually follow the same schedule as weeks 1-3 of phase 1 did.  Week 10 and 12 […]

  2. Final P90X recap (week 12) « Get Healthy With Heather - October 5, 2010

    […] Week 4 (stretch) Week 5 (kenpo cardio) Week 6 (legs and back) Week 7 (chest, shoulders and triceps) Week 8 Week 9 (yoga) Week 10 (back and biceps) Week 11 (shoulders and […]

Leave a Reply

