Simple Tangy Tzatziki Sauce

29 Aug

This is the second week that I’ve received an Organics To You produce delivery and again I was super excited to check it all out when I got home. 

Here’s what I received:

Cherry tomatoes
Donut peaches
Nectarines
Apricots
Apples
Zucchini
Asian cucumber
Romano beans

Avocado
Beats

Romaine
Swiss Chard

Purple garlic

Another great bounty of produce!  I was looking forward to the cucumber and had a recipe in mind for part of it – tzatziki sauce.

I’ve always been a fan of this refreshing and tangy dip and it went perfectly with my zucchini cakes Friday night.  You can easily make this a few hours ahead and leave it covered in the fridge until it’s time to eat.

Simple Tangy Tzatziki Sauce

Ingredients:

1 cup thick greek yogurt
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/2 cup grated cucumber
1/4 cup fresh mint, chopped
2 tsp lemon juice
pinch of sea salt and pepper

In bowl mix all the ingredient, except the cucumber.  Take the cucumber and squeeze out as much liquid as possible, either with a cloth or paper towel.  This will reduce it down to about a 1/4 cup.  Stir in the cucumber and garnish with some fresh mint.

This goes well with spicy meats or even mixed in with a can tuna instead of mayo.

5 Responses to “Simple Tangy Tzatziki Sauce”

  1. janetha August 29, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Yum I love tzatziki!

  2. Andrea@WellnessNotes August 29, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    Great produce delivery & great sauce! I love tzatziki!

  3. Kristen (swanky dietitian) August 30, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    This tzatziki dip looks delicious!
    I love all the yummy produce you got! It definitely helps you to be more creative in the kitchen I am sure.

  4. Nicole August 31, 2010 at 2:24 am #

    That would be a great sub for mayo, you’re right! And with tuna, it sounds wonderful! I love those donut peaches! I haven’t been able to find any for a good 6 weeks, though! They’re so yummmy!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Processed foods I buy « Get Healthy With Heather - September 18, 2010

    […] I’m not too picky on the brand, but I do search for ones that are higher in protein than carbs (like thick greek yogurt), or if the carbs are higher then they should be almost equal.  Plain yogurt is my substitute for sour cream and mayo a lot of the time, and makes perfect tzatziki sauce. […]

Leave a Reply

