Breath like an onion

31 Aug
  • This year I made sure to plan better and start my garden on time.  So far we have enjoyed sugar snap peas, spinach, swiss chard, a bit of broccoli, onions, carrots, beets and tomatoes.  I planted 3 tomato plants this year.  All 3 were starters when I got them which made keeping them alive much easier.
  •  

    There is 1 red grape tomato plant, 1 yellow ‘pear’ tomato plant (the size of grape tomatoes) and 1 red beef steak tomato plan.  There are so many huge green beef steak tomatoes and I can’t wait until they are ready to be devoured!

    I’ve been harvesting my mini red and yellow tomatoes a lot lately along with the last of my sweet onions. 

  • The greens were starting to get a bit yellow on the ends so I wanted to use them before they dried out.  Sometimes when I have green onions and they get down to the nubs I’ll put them in water and they’ll start growing again.  That’s a great way to get more out of your store bought green onions. 

    I decided to try that out with my green tops.  Since there isn’t a root on these I’m not sure exactly how it will work, but maybe they will last a bit longer with some hydration.

    Not 1 minute after I left the kitchen I heard my cat Stoner hop off the counter with a few stalks in his mouth!  Usually I’m upset when he jumps on the counter and takes food but it was just too funny watching him this time.

     

    I’m sure his breath would smell better if I left a glass of mint on the counter next time.

  • Advertisements

    5 Responses to “Breath like an onion”

    1. The Candid RD August 31, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

      Thanks for the comment on my blog. Actually, while the peanut crusted tofu sounds AWESOME, I really can’t eat tofu because of the gas it gives me. I take about 5 Beano and I still get the worst gas, as in the WORST! It’s really quite a bummer (for me and everyone around me….)

    2. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self August 31, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

      Hahaha your cat is so funny! He looks very much like one of my cats, actually! (Her name is Domino.)

    3. Naomi(onefitfoodie) August 31, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

      haha too cute!

    4. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} August 31, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

      That is hilarious! Kitty breath is bad enough…but with the stolen onions. ewww
      You are rocking the garden. It is so cool that you can pull those goodies from your back yard 🙂 xo

    5. Kristen (swanky dietitian) September 1, 2010 at 9:08 am #

      Your cat is too cute! I love how they can be so amused with something so simple. I sometimes will give my cats an empty box and they will be amused for hours.
      I have wanted to start a garden but not sure how it will hold up in Vegas.

    Leave a Reply

