P90X week 10 recap

13 Sep

Phew only 2 more weeks to go and P90X is through!  I am super excited, can ya tell?  It’s not that I don’t like it, I’m just really looking forward to adding more variety to my workouts.

On Monday, my usual day 1, I really felt running so that’s what I did instead of starting week 10.   Beginning on Tuesday then, here’s what I did:

Tuesday: chest, shoulders and triceps plus abs
Wednesday: plyometrics
Thursday: back and biceps plus abs
Friday: yoga
Saturday: legs and back plus abs
Sunday: stretch
Monday: kenpo cardio

I did all the workouts for the week and only switched up 1 day at the end.  Even though I was gone for the weekend from Thursday through Sunday I still managed to do my workouts.  My mom did yoga and the stretch DVD with me.  It’s so much more fun to workout with someone else!

Since I was away I didn’t want to bring my pull up bar with me, so instead I took my exercise bands.  This worked out real well and it challenged my back in a whole new different way than with the pull up bar.  I could really focus on my form which was nice.  Check out my examiner article to see how I did my pull ups with them.

Back and Biceps

This workout is nice because you don’t repeat any of the exercises.  There are a total of 24 exercises that you do in this routine.  Half focus on your back and half on your biceps. 

After the standard warmup you get right into 2 back exercises, the first being a type of pull up and the second exercise uses weights.  After 2 back exercises you have 2 bicep exercises.  Then you repeat the 2 back-2 bicep sections 5 more times.  Since you go through 12 types of curls your biceps get a huge burn and pump! 

I love this workout because it is simple to follow and really targets both muscle groups.  The most challening exercise for me is the reverse grip chin ups because by then you’ve already done 8 bicep exercises and the chin ups use your biceps so much.  Usually I’m the strongest when I do chin ups but when I get to those my biceps are already toast.

Any questions about P90X or the workouts?  I’m here to answer your questions!

10 Responses to “P90X week 10 recap”

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes September 13, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    I’m still considering P90X at some point; maybe to start the new year to mix things up… Sounds like the workouts work out well for you… Thanks for the recaps!

  2. Kristen (swanky dietitian) September 13, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    You are doing so good! I have yet to hear anyone actually complete the whole series so I can’t wait to hear your thoughts overall.
    Do you notice any differences in your body?

    • GetHealthyWithHeather September 14, 2010 at 6:04 am #

      Kristen – Mainly in my upper body and calves. The definition is there now. My strength has improved so much in the past month it’s crazy.

  3. Natalie September 13, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    What great info regarding using resistance bands instead of a pull up bar. I have those! Thank you.

    I have so much respect for you for doing P90X. My boyfriend also did it before the start of his rugby season. I just don’t think I could deal w/ the routine.

    Thanks for all the great information!

    Natalie

  4. Exercise and Eat September 13, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Do you have more energy after doing P90x?

    • GetHealthyWithHeather September 14, 2010 at 5:58 am #

      Exercise and Eat – Right after I finish the workouts no, but an hour or so later yes I do. I get more energy from most workouts though.

  5. Naomi(onefitfoodie) September 13, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

    you’re doing great!

  6. julie September 13, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    I’ve been wanting to buy the P90X videos for so long! Juat to have as in case of emergency or boredom workouts haha. Can’t wait to see how the full results come out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. P90X week 11 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - September 22, 2010

    […] as week 9 (and weeks 1-3 as well).  It switched up a couple strength training workouts from the previous week.  My body definitely likes a lot of change and I always feel the workouts more when I switch […]

  2. Final P90X recap (week 12) « Get Healthy With Heather - October 5, 2010

    […] 5 (kenpo cardio) Week 6 (legs and back) Week 7 (chest, shoulders and triceps) Week 8 Week 9 (yoga) Week 10 (back and biceps) Week 11 (shoulders and […]

Leave a Reply

