Naomi’s protein packed pancakes

14 Sep

Like I said I would, I tried one of the 7 pancake recipes shared with me.

This morning Naomi’s pancakes were the star on my plate.

Here’s her recipe:

1 scoop protein powder
1/3 C liquid egg whites
1/2 C oatmeal
cinnamon
nutmeg
5 drops vanilla stevia
chia seeds
1/4 C cottage cheese
1 t baking powder

I combined everything in my magic bullet and cooked them in a skillet like you would any pancakes.  The stevia was omitted because my vanilla rice protein powder is super sweet already.  Also, I learned from different times using that protein powder in pancakes to added in a 1/3 cup of water to the mix because it is thick like a paste without it.

After cooking them up I topped my stack with some cinnamon walnut/pecan butter and homemade chunky applesauce.

These pancakes were packed with so much protein which was the perfect meal after my legs and back workout. 

The texture was semi-cakey, but I think that may have been from the protein powder I used.  I loved how full I felt from them.  Definitely a recipe I’ll keep in my pancake rotation once I try it out with a different protein powder.

Any suggestions for a non-dairy protein powder that works well in pancakes and baked goods?  I love my hemp protein but try to use a variety of protein powders when I do use them.

6 Responses to “Naomi’s protein packed pancakes”

  1. simplyfitsimplyclean September 14, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    A lot of people use Sun Warrior, it seems. Are you a fan? I haven’t tried many protein powders b/c they all taste fake and too sweet for me. I’m tempted to buy Sun Warrior, but I’d like to try a small packet prior to buying a huge container. I’ve been keeping my eyes open for other recs.

    • GetHealthyWithHeather September 14, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

      Simplyfitsimplyclean – I’ve never tried Sun Warrior before but have seen a lot of people using it too. Most of the time I find protein powders tasting too fake or artificial, that’s part of the reason I like hemp protein powder. It has more of an earthy taste than artificial taste.

  2. Nicole September 14, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    Wow! I just tried protein waffles this weekend…now I want to try these, too! They look awesome…I love that they use oats and egg substitute.

  3. julie September 14, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    i seriously want a waffle griddle just so i can use this recipe to make waffles haha i love that you made pancakes but i want a waffle! waaaaaaaaaaaaaah. hahaha sorry i just whined

  4. Kristen (swanky dietitian) September 15, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    I love pancakes but don’t make them all too often because they lack protein. These look great! I will definitely be making these soon!

  5. Erica September 15, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Naomi rocks! These pancakes sound tasty. Definitely a great after lifting/working out breakfast. I am not big on a lot of soy, but I have tried a few soy protein powders and they seem to work well in recipes (Whole Foods has a great one)

Leave a Reply

