Spinach and artichoke hummus

20 Sep

Hummus

I eat it as a dip or spread…

mixed with nutritional yeast in omelets or on scrambled super eggs…

mixed with spicy mustard and water as a salad dressing…

it makes a creamy pasta sauce…

and much much more.

I recently read about spinach and artichoke hummus on another blog and wanted to try it instantly.  When I buy hummus I like to get it at Costco in big containers.  The price is better and it last me much longer than the small ones you find at regular grocery stores.  I was impatient and wanted it now, so instead of searching at my local Costco I went ahead and made a batch. 

What a good idea I had!  This hummus combines the delicious flavors of a spinach and artichoke dip, but instead of the creaminess coming from cheese it comes from the hummus’s beans and tahini.  I am in love with this hummus, it is so good.

Spinach and Artichoke Hummus

 

Ingredients

1 can of garbanzo beans/chickpeas, drained and rinsed (or 1 1/2 cups of cooked garbanzo beans)
1 large clove of garlic, minced
1 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp tahini
1/4 cup olive oil
half of a large (13.75 oz) can of quartered artichoke hearts, drained
1/2 cup frozen chopped spinach, defrosted and liquid pressed out (the pressed spinach amount will be around 1/4 cup)
pinch of sea salt and pepper

In a food processor add the beans, garlic, lemon juice and tahini.  Purée until almost to a smooth consistency, but still a bit chunky, scrapping down the sides every so often. 

Add the olive oil slowly while the food processor is still running. 

Lastly add the artichoke, spinach, sea salt and pepper.  Whirl until the artichokes are broken down and combined with the hummus to the consistency you like.

12 Responses to “Spinach and artichoke hummus”

  1. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self September 20, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Oh this sounds delicious! I love making homemade hummus, although I don’t do it enough. I usually just use it as a dip or sandwich spread, but apparently I need to start being more creative; I didn’t realize how versatile it is!

  2. Heather September 20, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    this sounds amazing, and definitely a healthier version i could get my hubby to eat! thanks for the great recipe!

  3. healthyexposures September 20, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    LOVE this flavor idea!! I always find myself opting for garlic lover’s hummus…but i really think it’s time i made my own, and spinach artichoke couldn’t sound better!

  4. Nicole September 20, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    MUST MAKE! Thanks for this recipe, Heather!

  5. Tina September 21, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    I had Sabra spinach artichoke hummus a couple weeks ago and didnt care for it at all. Yours looks really really good though. It looks more spinach-artichoke-y.

  6. Kris | iheartwellness.com September 21, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Oooo hummus how I love you! This looks delicious and full of so many wonderful ingredients!

    I have never thought of mixing hummus with nutritional yeast, I am a huge NY fan right now and eat it on and in everything!

    xxoo

  7. The Candid RD September 21, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Nothing beats a tasty snack that also has healthy components! This is a great recipe. The only bad thing, for me, is that most snacking dips have garlic, which I can’t eat. It’s such a shame. You can’t have hummus without garlic, it’s just not the same!! I can, however, recommend this recipe to clients, and that I will do 🙂

  8. Kristen (swanky dietitian) September 21, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    I just love hummus! The addition of artichoke and spinach sounds amazing. There is a red pepper hummus I often buy at the store. I should attempt making it!

  9. janetha September 21, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    looks great! i am addicted to spinach artichoke sabra, i should get off my ass and make my own 😉

  10. Amy @ Second City Randomness September 22, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    I’m always on and off with hummus… But this looks like a good swap for regular spinach artichoke dip… which I adore!

  11. Erica September 22, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    DELICIOUSNESS! I often make Broccoli huts artichoke hummus and am in love with it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Color your diet « Get Healthy With Heather - October 22, 2010

    […] snack: Spinach and artichoke hummus with bell peppers/cucumbers and a side of grapes or […]

Leave a Reply

