P90X week 11 recap

22 Sep

Week 11 is done and out of my life… week 12 will follow soon!  The week followed the same schedule as week 9 (and weeks 1-3 as well).  It switched up a couple strength training workouts from the previous week.  My body definitely likes a lot of change and I always feel the workouts more when I switch up my routine more often.

Here’s how the 2nd to last week went down:

Tuesday: Chest and back plus abs
Wednesday: Plyometrics
Thursday: Shoulder and arms plus abs
Friday:  Insanity plyo cardio circuit plus Insanity cardio abs
Saturday: rest
Sunday: Insanity max cardio conditioning
Monday: Yoga (half of it)
Tuesday: Legs and back plus abs
Wednesday: Kenpo cardio
Thursday: Stretch

My “week” stretched out an extra 3 days because we were at the beach for the weekend.  The place we stayed at had a workout room so I could have brought my yoga mat and resistance bands if I wanted to for yoga and legs/back, but instead I chose to only bring my laptop and Insanity DVDs because they require no equipment at all and a change is always fun for me. 

The Insanity cardio abs is also a nice variation from the P90X abs.  Both work SUPER well though!  For other core strengthening exercises check these out.

Shoulders and arms

This workout is the kind that gets to the point in my opinion.  It’s pretty basic and goes from shoulders to biceps to triceps.  There are 5 rounds (including the last ‘bonus’ round), and each round has the 3 exercises in it.  Once you complete the 3 exercises you repeat them again before moving onto the next round.  Between each round there is a 30 second water break.

Time always flies for me during this one.  It’s 58 minutes long and that includes the warm up, stretch and cool down, but it never really seems that long to me.  It’s very challenging, and using the worksheet allows you to see areas where you can increase your weights as you improve your strength.

If there was one P90X strength training DVD that I had to pick to do each week it would be that one.  I’m sure after a whole month or 2 of doing it I’d get sick of it, but for now I always look forward to it.

5 Responses to “P90X week 11 recap”

  1. shirinp90x September 23, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Hey Heather,
    I agree with you with the shoulders and arms dvd flying by! I totally like it and in one month, I am finding myself having to up my weights! Love it!

    Happy P90xing!!!

  2. Nicole September 24, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    You brought more to the beach than I would’ve…I’d have probably stopped with the lap top 😉 Kidding, kidding…kinda 🙂

    Have a great weekend, Heather!

  3. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} September 24, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    I keep wondering about that workout & have never tried it. Gosh, girl you must be so stong. P90X sounds like it works everything very efficiently. You are a great inspiration! I think you need more chocolate to compliment that workout 😉

  4. Andrea@WellnessNotes September 25, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    Great job with the workouts! The shoulder & arms workout sounds great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Final P90X recap (week 12) « Get Healthy With Heather - October 5, 2010

    […] Week 1 (chest and back) Week 2 (plyometrics) Week 3 (ab ripper x) Week 4 (stretch) Week 5 (kenpo cardio) Week 6 (legs and back) Week 7 (chest, shoulders and triceps) Week 8 Week 9 (yoga) Week 10 (back and biceps) Week 11 (shoulders and arms) […]

Leave a Reply

