Janetha’s protein pancakes

29 Sep

Janetha shared her favorite pancake recipe with me so I’d like to share it with you.  I loved the outcome and can’t wait to try this recipe in waffle form too.

Protein pancakes from Meals and Moves

Ingredients

1 cup old fashioned oats
1 cup fat free cottage cheese
1 cup egg whites (I used the equivalent of whole eggs)
1 scoop vanilla protein powder (one that is around 25g per scoop)
1 TB vanilla extract
Whole BUNCH of cinnamon
Sweetener of choice (optional, i don’t use this)
I added 1 tsp baking powder for some extra fluff

Blend all the ingredients in a blender and cook up 3 large pancakes (or more little pancakes). 

This recipe makes 3 servings which was perfect.  Jacob and I enjoyed them for breakfast and then I had one later as a snack.

I topped my pancake with my favorite toppings: almond butter and apple sauce.

My bounty of beef steak tomatoes are finally turning red quickly.  Now I have a ton of tomatoes.  No complaints here though, I just want to use them before they get too old.  I’ve been eating them plain sliced up – they are so sweet.  Also they’ve been adding to salads and pasta dishes. 

Any fun tomato ideas?

I may broil some with parmesan and basil.  Maybe the cheese would lure Jacob into eating them too.

3 Responses to “Janetha’s protein pancakes”

  1. janetha September 29, 2010 at 5:50 am #

    Yum..now I want pancakes! Thanks for the shout. They are definitely great as waffles. Funny, I have since started adding baking powder, too. Applesauce on top is a delicious idea!

  2. Erica September 30, 2010 at 3:09 am #

    Janetha’s protein packed recipes rock. I haven’t tried the pancakes yet- they’re on my list. Owww fresh tomatoes- caprese salad, stuffed tomatoes with rice and beans, panzanella….the possibilities are endless 😉

  3. Kris | iheartwellness.com September 30, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    I love, love, love Basil and Tomatoes!!!! Mmmmm with a little avocado 🙂

    These pancakes look seriously deadly for a breakfast. I could eat oodles of cakes for breakfast if I let myself 😐

    xxoo

Leave a Reply

