Satisfying sweet potato snack

3 Oct

Growing up I never liked cottage cheese.  I was a fan of yogurt, but could never enjoy a bowl of non-fruity lumpy ‘yogurt’.  That’s how I thought of it. 

Then I met my husband, who loves cottage cheese straight from the container.  I decided to give it another try.

I wasn’t used to the flavor, but after a few tries I thought it was okay.  Never have I eaten it straight from the container, but I do enjoy it with other flavors, especially sweet or spicy ones.

Cottage cheese has a good amount of protein in it, plus it’s low in lactose so I can stomach it much better than most yogurts.

I don’t like it alone, but I LOVE it with sweet potatoes.  Especially curry sweet potatoes.

 Curry Sweet Potato Round with Cottage Cheese Dipper

Ingredients:

1 medium sweet potato
Olive oil spray
Curry powder, sea salt and pepper
1/3 cup cottage cheese

Turn your oven onto broil and place a rack about 6-8 inches away from the broiler.  Cover a baking sheet in foil and mist the foil with olive oil spray.

Slice the sweet potato into 1/2 inch rounds.  Lay the round on the baking sheet.  Mist the side facing up with olive oil spray. 

Sprinkle on the curry, salt and pepper.  Use as much or as little as you want.  I always use a ton of curry, so base it on your own taste.  Flip the sweet potato rounds over and repeat the olive oil and spices on that side.

Place the baking sheet in the oven under the broiler for 5 minutes.  Flip the sweet potatoes over and broil for another 5 minutes.  Keep an eye on them because they brown quickly. 

Enjoy the sweet potatoes dipped in your small bowl of cottage cheese.

This mid-morning snack kept me satisfied and energized while I shopped my little heart out.  It would be a great post workout snack too.

5 Responses to “Satisfying sweet potato snack”

  1. Erica October 4, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    I am not a big cottage cheeser either. Its not so much the taste…as the consistency that bothers me. But I could totally get behind these curried sweet potatoes. In fact, I have two that need to be used up!

  2. Heather October 4, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    i love the addition of curry powder! this sounds perfect 🙂

  3. Nicole October 4, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    I looooove cottage cheese! And for dipping!? Unique! I like it! The curry rounds sound amazing, too! I can make some with my new mandoline 🙂

  4. Kristen (swanky dietitian) October 4, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    This sounds great! I used to not be a big fan of cottage cheese but it has definitely grown on me. This sounds like the perfect combination.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Color your diet « Get Healthy With Heather - October 22, 2010

    […] Morning snack: Curry sweet potato round with cottage cheese dipper […]

Leave a Reply

