Final P90X recap (week 12)

5 Oct

Week 12 concluded P90X for me.  To read previous weekly reviews, click below.  The DVD reviewed is in parentheses. 

Week 1 (chest and back)
Week 2 (plyometrics)
Week 3 (ab ripper x)
Week 4 (stretch)
Week 5 (kenpo cardio)
Week 6 (legs and back)
Week 7 (chest, shoulders and triceps)
Week 8
Week 9 (yoga)
Week 10 (back and biceps)
Week 11 (shoulders and arms)

I ended up spreading my final week a bit longer… guess I didn’t want it to end 😉  Here’s how it went…

Friday: Chest, shoulders and triceps plus abs
Saturday:Plyometrics
Sunday: non-P90X workout: run + zumba dvd
Monday: Back and biceps plus abs
Tuesday: Yoga
Wednesday: Legs and back
Thursday: Abs
Friday: Kenpo cardio
Saturday: Final rest day

Core synergistics

This workout always kind of confused me.  With the strength workouts, plyometrics, kenpo and yoga there was a pattern to the workout.  With core synergistics I just could never figure out the pattern.  That doesn’t mean I didn’t like it though because I did! 

The core synergistics DVD is done during recovery weeks.  It covers your entire core/trunk area.  This is perfect because a strong core is super important!

The workout is filled with a variety of abdominal, chest, back, glute, quad and hamstring exercises.  It works your entire trunk area and you don’t repeat any of the exercises.  This I always like.

I’ll definitely continue to do this DVD when I want to work on my core area, not just abs.

My final thoughts on P90X

Throughout most of the program I enjoyed it.  I had some motivation getting though the entire yoga DVD, especially the second half which is slower and less challenging. 

I liked that the program was split into 3 different phases, with a bit of a change in the strength training DVDs during the phases.  It didn’t change enough for me though.  Only 2 workouts were actually different during the  phases, which just isn’t enough for me.  I would have liked at least 4 workouts switched up. 

During the last 4 weeks I could definitely tell a difference in how my body reacted to the weekly switch (weeks 9 & 11 followed phase 1 and weeks 10 & 12 followed phase 2).  I could really feel my muscles working hard, and being challenged because there was a bit more switching up.

I didn’t take pictures or measurements before starting the program, so I don’t have any major results to report.  I didn’t do P90X to lose weight, I did it because I wanted to start a challenging program that I kind of thought I wouldn’t finish, but then actually finish it.  I did that and am so proud to say that I did. 

That said, I can most definitely tell a difference in my upper body strength.  I started only being able to do about 1 pull up.  By the end I could do about 7 or 8 pull ups and 10(!) chin ups in a row!  My biceps, triceps and chest also became much stronger and more defined.

My legs and core were already strong from running, so they didn’t change very much.  I actually think that my core became a bit weaker because I wasn’t running as much as usual.  Running really works your entire core.

It was a battle to motivate myself to do the workouts, especially if I put it off until after work.  I know that I am a morning exerciser and don’t really have to talk myself into doing it in the AM.  It’s become a habit and makes me feel great. 

Moving forward I’m going to be doing shorter, but still intense workouts.  Each day the P90X workout lasted anywhere from 55-90 minutes.  That took away from my productive morning time, so I’m looking forward to having some of that back.  Not all though because I’ll still be working out in the morning, just not as long.

I hope to post more of my workout routines on my new and updated fitness page.  So far there is an exercise information, individual exercises and a workouts page created.

Let me know if there is any specific exercise info or workouts you’d like created.  I’m always up for a challenge!

5 Responses to “Final P90X recap (week 12)”

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes October 5, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    Great, comprehensive review! P90X sounds like a good workout, but I think the workouts are a bit too long to fit into my schedule at the time. I enjoyed following you along on your P90X journey! 🙂

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness October 5, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Congrats on getting through the whole thing! I’ve heard alot of people say they started and finally just gave up on it. It sounds like it takes a lot of dedication…

  3. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun October 6, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    I loved reading all your thoughts on this. I’ve never done P90X and always wondered what people really thought about it. Especially ones just using it as a new challenge. Kudos to you for finishing it. And awesome on all the pull ups and chin ups!

  4. Kristen (swanky dietitian) October 6, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    First off, congrats for finishing the whole program. Too be honest, I don’t know anyone who has finished it!
    That is great that you have gained more upper body strength. It is definitely a tough program so that is awesome that you completed it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. To run or not to run, that is the question. « Get Healthy With Heather - October 29, 2010

    […] I won’t commit to training like I want to.  It’s only 12 weeks and I’ve committed to something challenging before that was 12 weeks […]

Leave a Reply

