Quick plank series

6 Oct

Earlier in the week I did a fun, 20 minute, bucket sweating workout.  I basically had 5 different circuits I went through twice, ending with some pulse squats and a plank series.

The circuits are a bit difficult to explain, so once I have photos it will be much easier to share what ‘sprinting spider monkey’ or ‘step, dip and fly’ are.  In the mean time I did want to share my plank series that I ended with because it was challenging and can be added to any workout, or just done on it’s own.

This plank series is going to help strengthen you abs, obliques, chest, glutes, shoulders, triceps and back.  The only way to make sure that you are using those muscles is to tighten and engage your entire body, keeping it in a straight line from head to toe.  Make sure you do not raise your back creating a hump or allow your hips to drop down toward the ground.

Quick Plank Series

The entire series takes 3 minutes and 15 seconds.  Hopefully you feel some shake near the end.  If not, rest for 30-60 seconds and run through it again!

Getting started:

Start in a table top position, with your hands under your shoulders and your knees under your hips.

Keeping your shoulders in the same position, extend your feet back (squeeze your abs and glutes!) until you are in a straight line from head to feet.

Now you are ready to start the workout.  Keep a stop watch at eye level.

The first and last planks are 30 seconds long.  All the planks in between those are 15 seconds long.  If you need breaks take them and pick up where you left off.

1.  Plank (30 sec)
2.  Chaturanga plank -like you are going down into a push up with your elbows close to your side – stop 4-5 inches away from the ground (15 sec)
3.  Plank (15 sec)
4.  Side arm balance on right – transfer your left foot on top of your right foot while you raise your left arm straight up.  You will be balancing on your right arm and right foot, keeping your core engaged and hips from dropping  (15 sec)
5.  Plank (15 sec)
6.  Side arm balance on left – transfer your right foot on top of your left foot while you raise your right arm straight up.  You will be balancing on your left arm and left foot, keeping your core engaged and hips from dropping  (15 sec)
7.  Plank (15 sec)
8.  Staggered arms (right hand further past shoulder, left hand closer to chest) with holding left leg lift (15 sec)
9.  Plank (15 sec)
10.  Staggered arms (left hand further past shoulder, right hand closer to chest) with holding right leg lift (15 sec)
11.  Plank (30 sec)

By the end of this I hope you feel a bit shaky.  That’s the point – to challenge your muscles!

7 Responses to “Quick plank series”

  1. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} October 7, 2010 at 4:49 am #

    Great plank workout. I do these exercises often & I agree they keep our core so very strong!! xo

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness October 7, 2010 at 5:18 am #

    I’m starting to really appreciate planks a lot more theses days. I used to only be a sit up girl- who knew how much I was missing out on?!?!

  3. Kara @ MyWellnest October 7, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    I love doing planks! Although I don’t really do them in my current state, they will make a return some day!

  4. Kristen (swanky dietitian) October 7, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    Don’t you just love how your cats like to hang around..mine always seem to do that when I am doing floor workouts.
    Planks alone kill me! This workout seems tough. I can’t wait to give it a try.

    • GetHealthyWithHeather October 7, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

      Yes, my cat and dog are always hanging around! It’s pretty funny most of the time 🙂

  5. Andrea@WellnessNotes October 9, 2010 at 6:33 am #

    I hate doing planks, but I love what they do for my core… Great series! Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Promise of sweat, full body workout « Get Healthy With Heather - October 11, 2010

    […] as possible.  Next there are 100 short, quick squats thrown in there.   Lastly you end with the plank series.  The entire workout should take about 40 […]

Leave a Reply

