Smacked with cinnamon snickerdoodle cookies

12 Oct

Yum who doesn’t like a fresh, homemade cookie?  Especially cookies that burst with cinnamon in your mouth.  Count me in, I want those!

I have 3 spices that are my ultimate favorite spices.  I call them the triple-3.  Okay I just made that up, really I call them my 3 favorite spices.  They are cumin, curry and cinnamon.

Cinnamon gets used the most.  Probably every day I’m sure.  On a rainy cookie baking day that was no exception.  I incorporated whole grains into these cookies and pure maple syrup.  The result was delicious and they were devoured by the end of the day, and I made them around noon.  I’m sure if we didn’t have company over that evening Jacob still would have polished them off.

CIMG4169

Super cinnamon spice snickerdoodle cookies

Ingredients

1/4 cup butter, at room temperature
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
3 tbsp maple syrup
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup whole wheat pasty flour
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
pinch of sea salt

For the dusting: 1 tbsp brown sugar + 1 tsp cinnamon

Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Add the butter and brown sugar to a large mixing bowl and combine using a standing or hand-held mixer.

Once it’s nice and fluffy (after 3-4 minutes), scrape the sides down and add the egg, maple syrup and vanilla.  Mix until combined well.

In a separate bowl whisk together the dry ingredients (excluding the dusting ingredients).  Add to the wet ingredients and beat until combined.

Mix the dusting ingredients and spread on a shallow plate.  Using your hands pinch off pieces of the dough, about the size of a walnut.  Roll into a ball, roll in the dusting sugar and place on the baking sheet.  You should end with 16 cookies.

Bake for 10-11 minutes.  The cookies will puff up and spread a bit while baking.  Cool on a wire rack. 

These cookies are seriously tasty.  If you aren’t a super crazy cinnamon fan like me, you can reduce it down to 1 tsp, but I like the spiciness you get from a ton of cinnamon.

7 Responses to “Smacked with cinnamon snickerdoodle cookies”

  1. Joslyn @ missfitbliss October 12, 2010 at 5:22 am #

    Yum! Those have to be my favorite cookies ever. My Aunt Lois used to bake them when we were kids. We barely let them cool off from the oven before devouring them;) And cinnamon is def one of my favorite spices as well. I’ve actually burned through a whole jar of it in just a few short months

  2. The Candid RD October 12, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    I love those three spices! I’ll also add garlic to that list (even though I can’t eat it!). I am a huge cinnamon fan too. I love it in my coffee, on top of a foamy latte. I also love it with applesauce (homemade especially!).

    Great looking cookies.

    • GetHealthyWithHeather October 12, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

      Yes I can’t imagine homemade applesauce (or any applesauce for that matter) without a ton of cinnamon!

  3. brandi October 13, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    I love snickerdoodles!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to make egg white oatmeal « Get Healthy With Heather - October 13, 2010

    […] 10 Oct In the morning when I wake up from dreaming about bed sets, I don’t like to feel like I’m already behind.  When I have more free time at home I try to plan ahead, prep and make my life a bit easier.  I did that with freezer meals not too long ago and it’s left me with more time to bake in the kitchen.   Mmmm snickerdoodle cookies. […]

  2. How to make egg white oatmeal « Get Healthy With Heather - October 13, 2010

    […] 13 Oct In the morning when I wake up from dreaming about bed sets, I don’t like to feel like I’m already behind.  When I have more free time at home I try to plan ahead, prep and make my life a bit easier.  I did that with freezer meals not too long ago and it’s left me with more time to bake in the kitchen.   Mmmm snickerdoodle cookies. […]

Leave a Reply

