Wednesday’s Weekly Workout Mini-Challenge

20 Oct

Since I am trying to keep myself more active at work throughout the day (which has been going well!), I decided that I wanted to take it to the next step at home as well.

I’ll be coming up with little weekly challenges that just get me moving more at home when I am there. It will probably be a single exercise each week, and it will change each week.

I hope many of you join me in these mini-challenges. They will last from today (Wednesday) till Tuesday. Next Wednesday there will be a new mini-challenge posted.

I didn’t come up with this weeks’ mini-challenge on my own though so I can’t take credit. I read about the idea on bodyrock.tv and decided it would be a fun thing to implement.

This week’s mini-challenge: pull ups (or a modified exercise)

I really don’t want to lose my pull up ability I gained with P90X, so this week will keep me on track with that.

I’ll be setting my pull up bar in the bathroom door so every time I go to use the bathroom I have to do 2 pull ups. I chose 2 because I know that will end up being a lot after a day of being home, or even a lot in just the mornings as I go in and out of the bathroom getting ready for work.

I’ll switch between close grip pull ups and chin ups for a bit of variety.  Maybe a few wide grip pull ups because I do need to work on those.

CIMG4143      CIMG4144

If you don’t have a pull up bar at home you can use bands. Click here to read how to use resistance bands like you would a pull up bar.

If you don’t have either of those at home you can choose a different back exercise. Maybe you do supermans or an overhead ball throw. It’s not so much about the pull up specifically, it’s about moving that extra little bit.  Make sure to put something near your bathroom door to remind you that before you go in you must do this exercise.

Supermans: Lie on your stomach with your arms and legs stretched out. Raise your arms and legs off the ground a few inches, hold a few seconds, and then lower. Alternate arms and legs as an option.

Overhead ball throw shown in circuit 5, click here to see.

Want to join me? Leave a comment so I know you’re in and what you’ll be doing. We’ll keep each other motivated with this mini-challenge. I’ll try to keep track of how many I do each day.  So far it’s already 4!  It will probably be a ton over the weekend… I drink a lot of water!

I’ve really enjoyed reading about the different types of exercise you all like.  Keep the giveaway entries coming!

13 Responses to “Wednesday’s Weekly Workout Mini-Challenge”

  1. Courtney (Pancakes and Postcards) October 20, 2010 at 6:23 am #

    that’s a great challenge. i used to do a lot of rock climbing and could do SO any pull ups but now i totally suck! i don’t have a pull-up bar, but want to get one asap so i can get back into it.

  2. Jenny October 20, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    I love the challenge idea! I might just have to participate! I’ve been wanting to do p90x so this may be a good start : )

    If you’re ever interested in turbo fire, let me know or go to http://www.teambeachbody.com/jhgoodson.

  3. Erica October 20, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    Such a great idea! All the little things totally add up. I drink so much water, I feel like I’m always in the rest room…I may end up doing a million of these a day! Josh has a pull up bar as a result of P90, I haven’t tried it though…I think you’ve inspired me!

  4. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad October 20, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Haha! This is a great idea. If only I could do pull-ups. With all the time me and my tiny bladder spend in the bathroom, I’d be forced to do a lot of those suckers!

  5. Kristen (swanky dietitian) October 20, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    This is such a great idea. I wish I had a pull up bar. It definitely makes a big difference when it is throughout the day. I am going to think about this and try to make a goal.

  6. Kris | iheartwellness.com October 20, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    Great challenge doll!! I love keeping active as much as possible even since working from home…I will do squats when I blowdry my hair 🙂

    hehe!

    I love the chin up bar, even though it doesn’t seem to like me 😉

    xxoo

  7. Angela (the diet book junkie) October 21, 2010 at 12:41 am #

    that pull up is seriously impressive, i can barely do a push up. 😛 you’re right, the little things do add up, i’ll have to come up with a plan.

  8. Joslyn @ missfitbliss October 21, 2010 at 4:46 am #

    Girl, you are killin’ me with those great pics of you doing pullups! I’m getting flashbacks of elementary school gym tests! I think I need to break through the fear and get a pullup bar…

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Cathy at Wives with Knives October 21, 2010 at 4:50 am #

      I just have to become more serious about getting regular exercise in my daily routine. I’ll start with some little things.

  9. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday October 25, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    What a great idea!
    I’ve just become able to do chin-ups and pull-ups which was so exciting for me! I still can’t do an unassisted wide-grip pullup without giving myself a big jumping boost.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Filling fall pancakes « Get Healthy With Heather - October 25, 2010

    […] Oct Have you been following along with Wednesday’s mini workout challenge?  I’ve done quite a few pull ups since Wednesday morning, but do have to say I skipped out […]

  2. Wednesday’s Weekly Workout Mini-Challenge: Kitchen Lifts « Get Healthy With Heather - November 3, 2010

    […] Did you follow along with last week’s squat challenge?  I hope so.  I had much better success with that, then during the prior week’s pull up challenge. […]

  3. Wednesday’s Weekly Workout Mini-Challenge: Doubles « Get Healthy With Heather - November 10, 2010

    […] far I’ve gone through 3 weekly workout mini-challenges: pull ups, squats and kitchen lifts (calf raises).  I hope some of you have taken part in them […]

Leave a Reply

