Color your diet

22 Oct

If you were to think about your daily eats, what color would they be?

Green filled with salad, spinach, broccoli or avocado?

Overflowing with orange sweet potatoes, pumpkin, oranges, carrots, apricot and mango?

Purple?  Blueberries or eggplant anyone?

Red tomatoes, beets, strawberries or cranberries?

White onions, mushrooms and pears?

Yellow bell peppers and corn?

Brown bread, rice or whole grains?

Or is there a lot of beige?  Processed foods lacking natural colors?

It can be easy to fall into the processed foods rut.  Even if you know vegetables are important for your health, it can still be challenging to make sure your diet is full of many colors. 

Did you know only 26% of adults in the US eat 3 or more vegetables a day? source 

The recommendation (based on a 2,000 calorie diet) is 9 servings of fruits/vegetables a day.  Sounds like a lot huh?  Let’s see how this can be done.

Note – I eat 5-6 times a day but smaller meals.  Eating this way keep my energy levels stable and also keeps me from eating and arm and a leg at each meal.  After trial and error I’ve found this works best for my body.

Breakfast: Egg white oatmeal with blueberries and almond butter

CIMG4138

Morning snack: Curry sweet potato round with cottage cheese dipper

CIMG4123

Lunch: Pasta salad with a pear or plum

cimg3639

Afternoon snack: Spinach and artichoke hummus with bell peppers/cucumbers and a side of grapes or apple

CIMG4085

Dinner: Ruby red mixed veggie hash with crockpot Italian chicken

CIMG4266

Possible evening snack: A piece of dark chocolate, a chocolate peanut cluster or fruit

CIMG3840CIMG4204

Looks like there are a lot of colors throughout the day.  Win!

Tell me, what colors are in your diet?  Are you part of that 26% that eats 3 or more servings of vegetables a day?  Want to be?

6 Responses to “Color your diet”

  1. Balanced Healthy Life October 22, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Yay! I am happy to say I’m a apart of the 26% of adults that get 3 or more vegetable servings a day. I usually have about 5 different colors a day!

  2. Kristen (swanky dietitian) October 22, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I know there are days when I don’t eat as many fruits and vegetables as I should. I always try to include a variety of colors though.
    I am also like you in that I snack a lot throughout the day. Definitely keeps my energy up!

  3. helennaturally October 22, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    I absolutely love this post!! I too eat 5-6 meals a day. I use a varitey of colors. Thankfully I grew with parents that always planted a huge garden so I developed a love for veggies early. I go for a lot of variety in my day; however, if it is close to pay day/grocery time like this week I at times have to work with what I have. But it is still natural and clean!

  4. theUngourmet October 22, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    I have to admit there are days I don’t get enough veggies. I love them but sometimes I cant’ think of creative ways to prepare them and I get bored with steamed broccoli. You have some terrific ideas in your post. Thanks! Tonight we had homemade pizza including spinach, mushrooms and red bell peppers.

  5. Jessie October 24, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Statistics like that are shocking! Even after knowing how good a colorful diet of lots of fruits and veggies is for us, most people still don’t get enough. Thanks for spreading the word! I try to eat as many fruits and veggies as possible; one way I try to do this is packing as many veggies as I can into lunch, because I’m usually so hungry at lunch that I just polish them off! 😉

    Have a nice day!

  6. Shanna, like Banana October 25, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    Ooo I’m so pleased when my meals have color!

    Red apples, brown raisins, green spinach, white feta, brown almonds, orange sweet taters…yum!

Leave a Reply

