Become a Pomegranate Pro

1 Nov

Pomegranate season is upon us and this year I’m taking full advantage of it.

Last year I got enough nerve to buy and open up my own pomegranate.  It wasn’t fun and it definitely wasn’t pretty.  This year I was determined to change that because pomegranates seeds (arils) are delicious and along with my produce delivery I received 2 pomegranates and I am not one to waste good healthy foods.

I decided I wanted to learn how to open a pomegranate the right way which would also be the easy and less messy way.  I searched the internet and watched many videos, all demonstrating varying ways to de-seed a pomegranate.  I took a chance on a method of choice.

CIMG4325

How to de-seed a pomegranate

1. Take a knife and slice off the top near the stem, about a 1/4 inch deep.

CIMG4328

2. Slice into segments (like an orange).  For a small pomegranate I sliced it into 4 segments, but for a large you’ll want to slice into about 6-7 segments.  You should see where the membrane separates the segments, so follow those lines if you can.

CIMG4329

3. Fill a large bowl with cold water.  Place a segment in the bowl.

CIMG4330

4. Begin to break off the seed from the while membrane.  The seeds will fall to the bottom while the membrane floats at the to of the water.  Repeat until you’ve done this with all of the segments.

CIMG4332

5. Once you’ve de-seeded all the segments, remove as much of the floating membrane as possible.

CIMG4333

6. Pour into a strainer.

CIMG4334

7. Dish up.  Now you’re ready to eat them up!

CIMG4338

This method is so much better than my original way of prying the seeds out with my fingers after cutting the pomegranate in half.  Look at the small mess I had – not bad.

CIMG4339

I’ve enjoyed munching on these seeds on their own, in smoothies, with veggies and also in a simple fruit salad.

CIMG4314

Oh and you can’t forget about on op of custard oatmeal.

CIMG4324

How do you like to eat pomegranates?  Any de-seeding tips you’d like to share?  Please do!

10 Responses to “Become a Pomegranate Pro”

  1. Jen @ keepitsimplefoods November 1, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    Very helpful! Thanks!

  2. Heather @ Side of Sneakers November 1, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    I LOVE pomegranates. I have no advice. I make a mess, stain everything in sight, and thoroughly enjoy it. 😉

  3. janae @Hungryrunnergirl.com November 1, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    Thank you for the tutorial because seriously I have never known the best way to do that!
    Your fruit bowl looks so so good!

  4. eatingRD November 1, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    Yay! Love pom seeds on just about anything and I think you summed it up perfectly. Looks great!

  5. Helen November 1, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    I use the same method as you, and I love to put them on everything from my oats, to my salads, yogurt, sandwiches, cereal, etc.

  6. Faith November 2, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    Wow Heather.. I always had problems cutting a pomagranate! Thanks for the tips 🙂

  7. lindsay November 2, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    I can’t believe I didn’t see this post yesterday!! I bought my first pomegrante and had no idea how to cut it. Lets just say I had red POM juice ALL OVER the counter. But it was good! 🙂

  8. lifewithacrazypup November 7, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Oh I definitely use my hands to pry those little babies out! I’m going to give this a try once I open up my next one! Thanks!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pomegranate and Peanut Smoothie « Get Healthy With Heather - November 3, 2010

    […] discovering how easy it is to de-seed a pomegranate, I’ve been having fun using the seeds in many recipes.  I’ve also enjoyed just eating them […]

  2. Sweet and Savory Brussels Sprouts « Get Healthy With Heather - November 5, 2010

    […] I incorporated pomegranates into this dish for a touch of sweetness.  If you aren’t sure how to open and de-seed a pomegranate easily, check out my how-to. […]

Leave a Reply

