Registered and Running

1 Nov

It’s been decided.  I’m now registered for the January 23, 2011 Vancouver Lake half marathon.

half-marathon-16

I was worried about committing to it knowing that I’d be running it alone this year, but I won’t be alone.  Thanks to those that said they’d be cheering me along during my training. 

I’ve very excited actually.  Training starts today and I’ll be going for a short run during my lunch break. 

I came up with a basic training plan, but will be getting something much better.  In my Fitness Testing class one of my fellow classmates offered to build me a training plan.  He’s a biking and running coach, so I’m stoked to have a specialized plan to work with. 

My main 2 goals for this half marathons are to:

1.  Not get injured – I’ve got to keep my Achilles issues under control this time.
2. Improve my time.  My best half marathon time is 2 hours 3 minutes and some change.  I want to be under 2 hours this time.

With the speed training I’ll be including I hope to accomplish this.  Fun training in the rain begins today!

Come back later today and become a pomegranate pro: how to easily de-seed a pomegranate.

5 Responses to “Registered and Running”

  1. Erica November 1, 2010 at 5:19 am #

    Congrats! And best of luck with the training. So exciting. Let us know how the first training session goes

  2. Kristen (swanky dietitian) November 1, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    Congrats on signing up for the half! You will do great! Wow..you completed a half in 2 hours..I am super impressed. I did a 10 miler this weekend in 2 hours.

  3. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun November 1, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    That’s so exciting! You are going to do awesome. 🙂

  4. Faith November 1, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    Good luck Heather with the marathon! Way to go girl:) You’ll do great. Let me know how you make out.

  5. janetha November 1, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Awesome, congratulations on making such a great decision and signing up! You are inspiring 🙂

Leave a Reply

