Wednesday’s Weekly Workout Mini-Challenge: Kitchen Lifts

3 Nov

I am 2 days in and half marathon training is going well.  Today I have sprints on the agenda and I’ll also be doing a quick 10 upper body interval workout this morning.  Should be a tough one I hope.

Did you follow along with last week’s squat challenge?  I hope so.  I had much better success with that, then during the prior week’s pull up challenge.

We’re going to move on and away from the bathroom too.  Instead of doing the mini-challenge each time I go into the bathroom, it’s going to be in the kitchen.  Since I cook a lot and mindlessly wander around in the kitchen I’ll be doing a lot of lifts I hope.

This week’s mini-challenge: kitchen lifts

I put a note on my fridge to do 10 kitchen lifts.  Anywhere I go in my kitchen I’ll see it.  I could only do the lifts when I open the fridge, but I choose to do them anytime I go into the kitchen.

Basically it’s a calf raise, but we’re calling it kitchen lifts today. 

You start standing flat on your feet.

CIMG4380

Contract your calf muscles and lift up onto your tippy toes.  If you want to make it even more challenging keep a weight near by and hold onto it while you do your lifts.

CIMG4381

I hope you join me in this week’s workout mini-challenge! 

I’m even going to try to do them at my work’s kitchen.  Every little bit helps me move more each day.

5 Responses to “Wednesday’s Weekly Workout Mini-Challenge: Kitchen Lifts”

  1. Nicole, RD November 3, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    That is the best calf workout…and they burrrrn after awhile, I love it!

  2. Faith November 3, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    Good luck with the workout! It really makes my day to see someone as determined as you are. I didn’t know about kitchen’s lift until now. lool

  3. Joslyn @ missfitbliss November 3, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    This is such a cute demo;) I love the name! I have to be careful with calf raises though. I tend to go buck wild and overdo it. The next day walking is an issue;) When will I learn?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pomegranate and Peanut Smoothie « Get Healthy With Heather - November 3, 2010

    […] Nov Did you join in on this week’s mini-challenge: kitchen lifts?  It takes less than a minute of your time each time you go into the kitchen so come on […]

  2. Wednesday’s Weekly Workout Mini-Challenge: Doubles « Get Healthy With Heather - November 10, 2010

    […] far I’ve gone through 3 weekly workout mini-challenges: pull ups, squats and kitchen lifts (calf raises).  I hope some of you have taken part in them too!  It’s been an easy and not […]

Leave a Reply

