7-7-7

11 Jan

After starting the day with a quite un-happy case of the Mondays (likely due to the fact that I woke up 1 1/2 hours late), the day is ending on a happy note.

I attempted to cheer myself up in the AM with a mug full of banana – wheat germ – dark chocolate cocoa powder – peanut butter oats.

It helped 😉

I knew the one thing that would really get me feeling great, and is always a good de-stresser = a good hard workout

Knowing that I got on it right when I got home from work.

The 7-7-7 did the trick.

What’s that you’re wondering??

7 minute warm up run to a nearby track

7 minutes of HIIT (20 second sprint – 40 second walk/jog)

7 minutes cool down run back home

It was just what the doctor ordered!

After some stretching I also did my sit ups for the challenge. We’re in week 2 now!

For dinner I made some black bean patties (black beans, onion, spinach, garlic, corn, ground flax seed, egg whites and spices), avocado cream, salad with mushroom, tons of tomato and salsa and a treat of mango on the side.  The patties turned out a bit dry which is strange because they were super wet pre-cooking.

Oh well… at least they had good flavor 🙂

So on Sunday I did get the fridge and cupboards cleaned and organized!

The before of my favorite cupboard:

And the after:

I got some good use out my mom’s labeler and filled up many many jars with beans, flours, grains, nuts, dried fruits and other yummy things.

I was pretty proud of my work in the kitchen 🙂

Today’s move of the day is the singe leg squat.  It’s a bit more intense than a regular squat.  Hope you enjoy it!

8 Responses to “7-7-7”

  1. Kris | iheartwellness.com January 11, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    What a great blog! I am so glad I found it 🙂

    Organized cupboards just make you feel so much better don’t they!

    I look forward to reading more!

    XXOO

    • Heather January 12, 2010 at 6:48 am #

      Kris – it totally made my day getting all of the cleaning and organizing done. I am always amazed at how wonderful I feel when I actually finish a to-do list. Glad you found the blog!

  2. Naomi (onefitfoodie) January 12, 2010 at 2:57 am #

    nice job with the organization!! it looks so great! i love your little spice containers too 🙂 the 7-7-7-sounds awesome liek it would really energize me!!

    • Heather January 12, 2010 at 6:50 am #

      Naomi – It really did energize me but kinda made it hard to fall asleep cause I got my heart pumpin so much later than normal.

  3. Erica January 12, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    Hey girl! Nice job on the workout and the org! Those are two things that always make me feel better! I love “refried” pinto beans too! Thanks for all your sweet comments on my blog!

  4. marlameridith January 12, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    Congrats on the pantry re-org…..looks great! I desperately need to do the same thing!! Gonna be working on a chocolatey oatie thing over here. I love chocolate oatmeal!

  5. peanutbutterfingers January 13, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    i ❤ cocoa powder in oats! well… i love chocolate anything i guess. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quick 10 minute interval workout « Get Healthy With Heather - October 26, 2010

    […] really enjoyed having my interval timer both for outdoor and indoor exercise.  By having the time count down I tend to work harder because I know I get […]

Leave a comment