Sweet and Savory Brussels Sprouts

5 Nov

My Aunt and Uncle introduced Jacob and I to brussels sprouts a few years back and ever since then it’s been a favorite veggie of ours.  Brussels sprouts are part of the Brassica family, along with broccoli and cabbage.  They provide a superior amount of vitamin K and C, and make a great addition to any high energy meal.

CIMG4340

My preparation no where compares to how delicious their brussels sprouts are.  They just have the magic touch, but I think I’ve come up with a tasty and quick dish that would even work great along a Thanksgiving meal.

CIMG4338

I incorporated pomegranates into this dish for a touch of sweetness.  If you aren’t sure how to open and de-seed a pomegranate easily, check out my how-to.

CIMG4375

Brussels Sprouts with Pomegranate and Bacon

makes 3-4 side dish servings

Ingredients

  • 5-6 cups brussels sprouts (about 1.5 lb), cleaned and quartered
  • 2 slices bacon (either maple or pepper works well), cut into small pieces
  • 1/4 cup pomegranate seeds (arils)
  • 1/4 cup pecan halves, roughly chopped
  • 1/8-1/4 tsp sea salt and pepper depending on preference

Directions

1.  Begin by cooking the bacon over medium-high heat in a large skillet.

CIMG4359

2.  Once the bacon is almost all browned add the brussels sprouts.  Cook and stir at least once a minute.  When most of the brussels sprouts have browned a little bit and are softened (about 5-7 minutes), pour in to pomegranates and pecans.  Add salt and pepper then as well.

CIMG4362

3.  Cook the entire mixture for another 2-3 minutes.  Taste a brussels sprout to make sure it is done, then plate up.

I served this side along with Cranberry Pulled Pork in Sweet Squash Boats.  It was like eating an early Thanksgiving and that was a-okay with me.

CIMG4376

Coming up: another 10 minute interval workout – major upper body burner.

Check out the core-focused 10 minute interval workout for a quick workout right now.

14 Responses to “Sweet and Savory Brussels Sprouts”

  1. Faith November 5, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    Great recipe Heather! I love brussels! They are so healthy and cute looking. I love pomegranate too. It gives the dish a wonderful taste.

  2. Angie's Recipes November 5, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    This looks delish and healthy!

  3. Erica November 5, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    oh girl- this is just gorgeous. Josh and I are brussel fanatics. And I love how you incorporated the sweet element into the dish. Although I don’t do bacon, I want to try this sans the bacon. FABULOUS! Hope you have a really nice weekend!!

  4. cbrady3 November 5, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Mmm I’ve been trying to think of some good Thanksgiving side dishes I can make. I think I may try that one with either veggie bacon or no bacon. I LOVE brussel sprouts!!

  5. TheHealthyApron November 5, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    Ok, every time I see a dish made with brussel sprouts it looks SO good..but then I taste it and I don’t like it! Why don’t I like brussel sprouts? It’s like the only veggie I don’t!

    • GetHealthyWithHeather November 5, 2010 at 11:33 am #

      Erin, sometimes brussel sprouts can give off a bitter taste if cooked too long… maybe that’s what happens when you try them?

  6. lindsay November 5, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    now there’s a new way to use pomegrante. Perfect!! The hubs likes brussel sprouts and pomegrante. I can’t go wrong now!

  7. Nicole @ Making Good Choices November 5, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    I have been looking for new ways to incorporate pomegranates into dishes, this is so creative. I love this.

  8. Andrea@WellnessNotes November 6, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    I’m putting this dish on my Thanksgiving menu!

  9. marlameridith November 6, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    These sprouts look awesome. Love the pecans and pomegranate seeds….must try for the holidays or any day! xo

  10. Tina November 7, 2010 at 5:34 am #

    That combo sounds amazing!!! I would never have thought to combine brussels and pom.

  11. Nicole November 7, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    I bet the brussel’s sprouts went so well with the pork in the squash boats! YUM! And the sweet with the salty and the bite from the sprouts sounds awesome!! I love all the pomegranate recipes around the blogosphere..I just bought another one today!

  12. Angela November 17, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

    I made this tonight and it was really good. This is the first time I’ve made Brussels sprouts and liked them. I think the bacon is the key!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. the great thanksgiving recipe swap: brussels sprouts with pomegranate and bacon — Eat, Live, Run - November 9, 2010

    […] Recipe and photo from Heather. […]

Leave a comment